Sat Mar 04
Final
17 Denison
2 vs. Manchester
@ Chillicothe, Ohio in Chillicothe, Ohio
Sun Mar 05
Final
1 Manchester
14 vs. Denison
@ Chillicothe, Ohio in Chillicothe, Ohio
Sun Mar 05
Final
11 Denison
1 vs. Manchester
@ Chillicothe, Ohio in Chillicothe, Ohio
Sun Mar 12
Final
4 Denison
5 vs. Arcadia
@ Snowbird Classic in Port Charlotte, Fla. (NPHS)
Sun Mar 12
Final
4 Denison
6 vs. Susquehanna
@ Snowbird Classic in Port Charlotte, Fla. (NCRP #6)
Mon Mar 13
Final
2 Amherst
12 vs. Denison
@ Snowbird Classic in Port Charlotte, Fla. (NCRP #3)
Tue Mar 14
Final
5 SUNY-Canton
7 vs. Denison
@ Port Charlotte, FL in Port Charlotte, Fla. (NCRP #3)
Wed Mar 15
Final
9 Denison
0 vs. Mount St. Mary
@ Snowbird Classic in Port Charlotte, Fla. (NCRP #3)
Fri Mar 17
Final
10 Nichols
7 vs. Denison
@ Snowbird Classic in Port Charlotte, Fla. (NCRP #3)
Sat Mar 18
Final
2 #25 North Central (Ill.)
13 vs. Denison
@ Snowbird Classic in Port Charlotte, Fla. (NCRP #3)
Wed Mar 22
Final
6 Denison
2 at Marietta
in Marietta, Ohio
Thu Mar 23
Final
1 John Carroll
14 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Mar 24
Final
11 Denison
3 at Capital
in Bexley, Ohio
Mon Mar 27
Final
8 Heidelberg
13 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Mar 28
Final
8 Denison
1 at Ohio Northern
in Ada, Ohio
Sat Apr 01
Final - 11 innings
1 Wabash
2 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 01
Final
0 Wabash
4 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 02
Final
2 Wabash
3 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 02
Final - 7 innings
0 Wabash
15 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 08
Final
2 Oberlin
4 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 08
Final
10 Oberlin
19 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 09
Postponed
Baldwin Wallace
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 14
Final
3 #17 Denison
4 at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Fri Apr 14
Final
6 #17 Denison
13 at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Apr 15
Final - 7 innings
5 #17 Denison
15 at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Apr 15
Final
14 #17 Denison
12 at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Wed Apr 19
Final
19 #10 Wooster
3 #25 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Apr 20
Final
8 #25 Denison
2 at Muskingum
in New Concord, Ohio
Sat Apr 22
Final - 7 innings
2 Wittenberg
12 #25 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 22
Final
7 Wittenberg
3 #25 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 23
Final - 7 innings
7 Wittenberg
20 #25 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 23
Final
3 Wittenberg
9 #25 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Apr 26
Final
9 #27 Denison
1 at Otterbein
in Westerville, Ohio
Fri Apr 28
1:00 PM
#27 Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Fri Apr 28
4:00 PM
#27 Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Apr 29
12:00 PM
#27 Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Apr 29
3:00 PM
#27 Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Big Red pitches shutout against Knights

Denison bullpen

PORT CHARLOTTE, Fla. -- Four Denison pitchers combined for a three-hit shutout of the Mount St. Mary Knights on Wednesday afternoon in Florida. The Big Red bats backed the outstanding display on the mound with nine runs on the strength of 12 hits.

Heading into the team's only day off during their spring break trip, the Denison coaching staff wanted to give starters Zack Huarte and Perley Provost some action prior to their next scheduled starts. Both looked dominant on the hill for DU. Huarte (2-0) earned the win after tossing three hitless innings while striking out five of the six batters he faced. Provost surrendered just one hit in his three scoreless frames. Seniors Matthew Zmuda and Connor Hanrahan nailed down the shutout performance with three innings of two-hit baseball. Zmuda tossed the seventh and eighth innings, while Hanrahan closed out the ninth.

The Big Red offense produced single runs in the first, second, fourth, fifth and eighth innings before blowing the game wide open with a four-run ninth. Junior Tanner Johnson went 3-for-4 at the place with a triple, two RBIs and a three runs, while Tucker Davison recorded two hits, including a double, and knocked in three runs. Joseph Maydwell and Evan Flax both logged two hits and scored twice.

Knight pitcher Jake Stewart (0-3) suffered the loss after allowing five runs (four earned) on eight hits in eight innings of work. Nick Rizzo recorded two of the team's three hits from the lead-off spot.

With the win, Denison improves to 6-2 on the year, while Mount St. Mary falls to 2-8. The Big Red returns to the diamond on Friday (March 17) against Nichols. First pitch is scheduled for 4 p.m.