Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Mar 03
Final
10 Denison
11 at Hampden-Sydney
in Sydney, Va.
Sun Mar 04
Final
7 Denison
0 vs. York (Pa.)
@ Hampden-Sydney, VA in Hampden Sydney, Va.
Sun Mar 04
Final
9 Denison
0 at Hampden-Sydney
in Hampden Sydney, Va.
Sat Mar 10
Final
5 Denison
1 at Transylvania
in Lexington, Ky.
Sat Mar 10
Final
3 Denison
0 at Transylvania
in Lexington, Ky.
Sun Mar 11
Final
3 Capital
5 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 17
Final
12 Adrian
9 vs. Denison
@ Snowbird Classic in Port Charlotte, Fla.
Sun Mar 18
Final
0 Amherst
4 vs. Denison
@ Snowbird Classic in Port Charlotte, Fla.
Sun Mar 18
Final
18 #6 Wooster
1 vs. Denison
@ Snowbird Classic in Port Charlotte, Fla.
Mon Mar 19
Final
20 Denison
4 vs. #4 North Central (Ill.)
@ Snowbird Classic in Port Charlotte, Fla.
Wed Mar 21
Final
7 Plymouth St.
5 vs. Denison
@ Gene Cusic Classic in Ft. Myers, Fla.
Thu Mar 22
Final
6 Denison
7 vs. #21 Johns Hopkins
@ Gene Cusic Classic in Ft. Myers, Fla.
Fri Mar 23
Final
15 Denison
12 vs. St. Lawrence
@ Gene Cusic Classic in Ft. Myers, Fla.
Fri Mar 23
Final
15 Denison
3 vs. Plymouth St.
@ Gene Cusic Classic in Ft. Myers, Fla.
Wed Mar 28
Final
3 Otterbein
8 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 31
Final
15 Denison
11 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Mar 31
Final - 10 innings
6 Denison
7 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Thu Apr 05
Final
7 #25 Baldwin Wallace
13 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 08
Final
5 Denison
3 vs. Allegheny
@ Butler, PA in Butler, Pa.
Sun Apr 08
Final
7 Denison
0 vs. Allegheny
@ Butler, PA in Butler, Pa.
Wed Apr 11
Final
3 DePauw
8 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Apr 11
Final
9 DePauw
13 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 13
Final
1 Hiram
13 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 13
Final
4 Hiram
16 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 14
Final - 10 innings
10 Denison
9 at #14 Marietta
in Marietta, Ohio
Sun Apr 15
Postponed
Denison
at John Carroll
in University Heights, Ohio
Wed Apr 18
Final
3 Kenyon
5 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 21
Final
2 Ohio Wesleyan
7 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 21
Final
1 Ohio Wesleyan
0 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 22
Final
6 Denison
2 at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Wed Apr 25
Final
9 Denison
1 at Heidelberg
in Tiffin, Ohio
Thu Apr 26
Final
4 #20 Marietta
6 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 28
Final
4 #2 Wooster
3 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 28
Final
2 #2 Wooster
4 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 29
Final
8 Denison
4 at Baldwin Wallace
in Berea, Ohio
Wed May 02
Final
6 Oberlin
18 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed May 02
Final
9 Oberlin
10 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat May 05
Final
4 Denison
2 at Wabash
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
Sat May 05
Final
16 Denison
1 at Wabash
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
Sun May 06
Final
12 Denison
10 at Otterbein
in Westerville, Ohio
Thu May 10
Final
4 Wabash
2 vs. Denison
@ VA Memorial Stadium in Chillicothe, Ohio - NCAC Tournament
Fri May 11
Final
4 Kenyon
9 vs. #24 Denison
@ VA Memorial Stadium in Chillicothe, Ohio - NCAC Tournament
Fri May 11
Final
2 #24 Denison
4 vs. #2 Wooster
@ VA Memorial Stadium in Chillicothe, Ohio - NCAC Tournament
Thu May 17
Final
5 #11 Chris. Newport
1 vs. #24 Denison
@ Ting Park in Holly Springs, N.C. - NCAA South Regional
Fri May 18
Final
6 Randolph-Macon
1 vs. Denison
@ Holly Springs,NC NCAA South Regional
View Full Schedule

Comeback falls short against Nichols

Eric Zmuda  |  Photo by Jason Miller
Eric Zmuda | Photo by Jason Miller

PORT CHARLOTTE, Fla.—Denison jumped out to a 4-1 lead against Nichols in Punta Gorda, Florida but the Bison rallied with two runs in the seventh, four in the eighth and two more in the ninth to knock off the Big Red, 10-7.

DU's four-run first inning came to fruition after a single by Phil Papaioannou scored Eric ZmudaTanner Johnson slapped a single through the left side of the infield, scoring Evan Flax.  An error on the shortstop moved everybody up a base.  With no one out, RBI ground outs by Tucker Davison and Joseph Maydwell scored two more, making it a 4-1 game after one.

Denison starter Perley Provost retired the Bison in order in the second.  In the third, an error on the first baseman put runners on second and third with no one out.  Provost battled back to get Cam Cook to ground into a 4-3-6 double play which scored an unearned run.

Denison took a 5-2 lead into the sixth after Brian McAuliffe's base hit to center scored Maydwell.  In the top of the seventh, Provost ran into a jam after a leadoff single and walk to start the frame.  A sacrifice bunt attempt by Greg Eng resulted in an error on Provost that scored a run while placing runners on the corner.  Joe Assenza followed with a RBI double and head coach Mike Deegan went to Mikey Rivera with DU still holding a 5-4 lead.

Rivera got out of the jam with a strikeout and two infield popups but trouble came back around in the eighth.  Three runs on four hits gave Nichols their first lead since the top of the first.

Two more in the top of the ninth had Denison on their heels at 10-5.  With a steep hill to climb, Denison went to work in the home half of the ninth as McAuliffe opened with a walk.  Pinch hitter Ethan Carlyon singled to left, moving pinch runner Nick Pettigrew to second.  Zmuda loaded the bases with a single to center and Evan Flax brought in Pettigrew with a sac fly to left.

Papaioannou got crafty with one out and reached base with a bunt single.  Another sacrifice fly by Johnson made it a 10-7 game with two outs and runners on second and third.

The game-winning run would come to the plate after Davison was hit by a pitch.  That gave Maydwell a chance to be the hero, but a 6-4 ground out placed that scenario on ice.

Provost pitched six innings, scattering five hits and two walks.  Four runs crossed the plate but only one was earned.  Rivera was saddled with the loss in his one inning of work.  Connor Hanrahan worked the final two innings for DU.

Papaioannou led the Big Red at the plate, going 3-for-5 with one RBI and one run scored. 

Denison will close out their spring break schedule on Saturday when they take on North Central at 12 p.m.