Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Sat Sep 01
12:00 PM
Centre
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Sep 05
6:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Sep 08
12:00 PM
Denison
at Roanoke
in Roanoke, Va.
Sun Sep 09
1:00 PM
Denison
at Washington and Lee
in Lexington, Va.
Thu Sep 13
5:00 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Sep 15
12:00 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Tue Sep 18
5:00 PM
Wash. & Jeff.
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Sep 20
4:30 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Sep 26
4:30 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Sep 29
11:00 AM
Earlham
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Oct 03
4:30 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Oct 06
11:00 AM
DePauw
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Oct 12
4:30 PM
Wooster
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 13
11:00 AM
Oberlin
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Oct 16
4:30 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Oct 18
4:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Thu Oct 25
4:30 PM
Denison
at Earlham
in Richmond, Ind.
Sat Oct 27
11:00 AM
Kenyon
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
View Full Schedule

Denison avenges loss to Wooster

Alyssa Bahel  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Alyssa Bahel | Photo by Jace Delgado

GRANVILLE, Ohio--  Denison's winning streak reached eight games after a convincing 5-1 victory over the College of Wooster on Tuesday at Piper Stadium.  The win avenged a 1-0 double-overtime loss to the Fighting Scots on September 13, which also happens to be the last time the Big Red found themselves on the short end of the scoreboard.

Denison took command early, forcing penalty corners and applying pressure to the Fighting Scots defense.  Leading 8-0 in shots 28 minutes into the match, the Big Red broke through with a beautiful goal by Charlotte Happel that was set up by a 50-yard sprinting dribble by Alyssa Bahel.  She used her speed, made the turn toward the goal and fed a crossing pass to Happel who was there for the finish.

Just over a minute later, DU scored again when Jen Durbin cashed in from about five yards inside the circle.  The Big Red took a commanding 3-0 lead two minutes before halftime when after a penalty corner, Ali Gakenheimer crossed a ball through traffic to Bahel who was sitting at the corner of the cage ready to shoot and score. 

In the 53rd minute, Wooster's Kristina Miesel took the first shot of the match for the Scots.  One minute later, Harriet Sudduth pushed a loose ball into the back of the cage to make it a 3-1 game.

Six minutes later, Durbin inserted a penalty corner to Lucy Pearsall who received the ball at the top of the circle and passed to Happel for her second goal of the match.

The scoring was capped off in the final minute when Bahel scored after Pearsall's shot was saved by Katie Shideler. It was the fifth goal of the season for Bahel and her second multi-goal effort in 2017.

The eight-game winning streak is Denison's longest since stringing together 13-straight victories in 2013 on their way to a 17-2 season.

Denison outshot Wooster 25-3 and held an 11-1 advantage in penalty corners.  Shideler tallied 12 saves in goal for the Scots and Emma Roderick added one defensive save.  The Big Red was led offensively by Bahel who finished with two goals and one assist on three shots.  Happel led the team in shots with five, scoring twice.  Michelle Kabaira and Charlotte Godfrey chipped in four shots apiece.

DU returns to action on Friday, Oct. 13 when they travel to Oberlin College for a 4:30 p.m. tilt with the Yeowomen.  The Big Red defeated Oberlin 4-0 on Sept. 15 in Granville.

Wooster stuns Big Red in 2OT
September 13, 2017 Wooster stuns Big Red in 2OT