Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Sep 01
Final - PS Home
1 Centre
2 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Sep 05
Final
3 Denison
1 at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Sep 08
Final - OT
1 Denison
2 at Roanoke
in Roanoke, Va.
Sun Sep 09
Final
3 Denison
1 at #20 Washington and Lee
in Lexington, Va.
Thu Sep 13
Final
6 Denison
0 at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Sep 15
Final
2 Denison
0 at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Tue Sep 18
Final
1 Wash. & Jeff.
0 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Sep 20
Final - 2OT
1 Ohio Wesleyan
2 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Sep 26
Final
1 Denison
0 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Sep 29
Final
0 Earlham
2 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Oct 03
Final - OT
1 Denison
0 at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Oct 06
Final
2 DePauw
5 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Oct 12
Final
0 Wooster
3 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 13
Final
0 Oberlin
5 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Oct 16
Final
1 Wittenberg
2 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Oct 18
Final
2 Denison
0 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Thu Oct 25
Final
4 Denison
1 at Earlham
in Richmond, Ind.
Sat Oct 27
Final
0 Kenyon
2 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Oct 31
Final
0 Wittenberg
3 Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAC Tournament Semifinal
Sat Nov 03
Final
0 Wooster
2 Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAC Tournament Championship
Wed Nov 07
Final
1 #20 Denison
3 at Lynchburg
in Lynchburg, Va. - NCAA Tournament First Rd.
View Full Schedule

Denison shuts down Witt to stay perfect in NCAC

Charlotte Happel  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Charlotte Happel | Photo by Jace Delgado

SPRINGFIELD, Ohio -- Highlighted by a goal from junior Charlotte Happel in the 15th minute and a shutout from the Big Red defense, Denison field hockey improved to 5-0 in North Coast Athletic Conference play when they defeated Wittenberg University 1-0 on Wednesday evening at Edwards-Maurer Field in Springfield, Ohio.

Not only did DU keep the Tigers off the scoreboard, but the Big Red held Wittenberg to zero shots on the day, outshooting the opposition 16-0 and racking up 10 penalty corners compared to Witt's two.

Opening with eight shots in the first half, Denison was led by sophomore Charlotte Godfrey and her five shots to begin the contest. On her fifth shot, Wittenberg's goalie Allie Purvis made a save to keep the match scoreless, but at 14:32, Happel connected in the back of the cage and put the Big Red up early, 1-0.

DU had a chance to extend their lead before the end of the first half on a penalty stroke from freshman Maya Tumiwa, but a save from Purvis kept the Big Red lead at 1-0 entering intermission.

In the second half, Tumiwa and senior Lucy Pearsall combined for seven of Denison's eight shots as the Big Red posted their third clean sheet of the season and improved to 7-2 overall.

Godfrey and Tumiwa finished with five shots each, and a combined seven shots on goal to lead both sides. Happel and Pearsall also tallied double-digit shots for Denison.

In goal, Teya Adams and Kerry Lawler combined to allow zero shots in 70 minutes of play, giving Adams her seventh win of the season. For Wittenberg, Purvis totaled 10 saves in a full match played.

Denison will look to stay perfect in the NCAC on Saturday, September 29 when they host Earlham College at 11 a.m. to begin an exciting Big Red Weekend in Granville.