Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
Wed Nov 14
Final
77 Oberlin
72 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Nov 17
Final
66 Denison
86 at Ohio Northern
in Ada, Ohio
Tue Nov 20
Final - OT
79 Case Western Reserve
80 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Nov 28
Final
65 Denison
76 at Otterbein
in Westerville, Ohio
Sat Dec 01
Final
57 Denison
83 at Wabash
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
Wed Dec 05
Final
81 Hiram
80 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 08
Final
61 Kenyon
70 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Dec 12
Final
68 Denison
95 at Capital
in Columbus, Ohio
Sat Dec 29
2:00 PM
East Tex. Baptist
vs. Denison
@ Emory in Atlanta, Ga. - Emory Holiday Classic
Sun Dec 30
2:00 PM
Denison
vs. Oswego
@ Emory in Atlanta, Ga. - Emory Holiday Classic
Thu Jan 03
7:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Jan 05
3:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 09
6:00 PM
DePauw
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 12
3:00 PM
Denison
at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Jan 16
7:30 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Jan 19
3:00 PM
Wabash
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 23
6:00 PM
Denison
at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Jan 26
3:00 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Wed Jan 30
7:30 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 02
3:00 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Wed Feb 06
8:00 PM
Wooster
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 09
3:00 PM
Allegheny
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 13
8:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Feb 16
3:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Collier sets career-high in win at Hiram

Garrett Collier  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Garrett Collier | Photo by Jace Delgado

HIRAM, Ohio -- Senior Garrett Collier scored a career-high 27 points on Wednesday night as the Big Red surged past Hiram College in the second half to defeat the Terriers, 78-60, at Price Gymnasium.

Following a first half where Collier and sophomore Jack Coulter helped Denison end the half on a 7-2 scoring run, the Big Red carried a 31-28 advantage into intermission.

Entering the second half, DU stayed hot as junior Matt Doyle buried a three and then Johnny Vernasco added a layup at the 17:59 mark to give Denison a 36-30 lead. On the next possession, Hiram's Kelvin Jones missed a layup, leading Coulter to back-to-back three-pointers on the next two possessions, giving the Big Red a 10 point lead, 42-32, less than a minute and a half later.

After DU's 11-4 scoring run, Hiram totaled the game's next four points on a bucket from Jones and a pair of Paul Ortiz free throws. Trailing the Big Red by six with 15:15 to play, Fred Brou pushed Denison ahead to 45-36 when he connected from three-point land. A bucket from Doyle followed after multiple Terrier turnovers to put Denison up, 47-36.

Over the next 3:11 of play, Hiram went on a 7-0 scoring run, forcing Denison to take a timeout. Out of the break, Vernasco and Collier buried consecutive shots from the perimeter helping the Big Red go 4-of-5 from triple and turn in a 19-6 scoring run over the next 4:07 to take a 66-51 lead at the 6:03 mark.

The Terriers brought it back within 13, 71-58, with less than two minutes remaining, but a three-point play from Maxwell Siwik and a pair at the charity stripe for Collier allowed the Big Red to finish the night on a 7-2 run and stay in the hunt to host a North Coast Athletic Conference Tournament game next Tuesday, Feb. 20.

Collier's career-best 27 points were complemented by nine rebounds and four assists. Coulter chipped in 16 points, while Claude Chandonnet and Conor Fenton added six points each off the bench.

Ortiz led the Terriers with 13 points and Jones totaled a double-double on 11 points and 11 boards. Dye helped Hiram off the bench with 10 points.

Denison will close out the regular season on Saturday, Feb. 17 when they host Wabash College for a 3 p.m. tilt with the Little Giants.

ONU trio too much for Big Red
December 20, 2017 ONU trio too much for Big Red
Wittenberg blows by Big Red
December 9, 2017 Wittenberg blows by Big Red
Denison upsets No. 23 Cabrini
November 18, 2017 Denison upsets No. 23 Cabrini