Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Sun Feb 18
1:00 PM
Denison
at Washington and Lee
in Lexington, Va.
Sun Feb 25
1:00 PM
Denison
at Stevenson
in Owings Mills, Md.
Sat Mar 03
1:00 PM
Roanoke
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Mar 07
4:00 PM
Albion
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 10
2:00 PM
DePauw
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Mar 16
5:30 PM
Amherst
vs. Denison
@ Stevenson Univ. in Owings Mills, Md.
Sat Mar 17
5:30 PM
Denison
vs. Dickinson
@ Stevenson Univ. in Owings Mills, Md.
Fri Mar 23
1:00 PM
Rhodes
vs. Denison
@ Charlotte Latin H.S. in Charlotte, N.C.
Tue Mar 27
7:30 PM
Middlebury
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 31
1:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Apr 03
7:00 PM
Hiram
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Apr 11
7:30 PM
Wooster
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Apr 15
1:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Apr 18
7:30 PM
Kenyon
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 21
4:00 PM
Denison
at Wabash
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

No. 15 DU overpowers Lions

Nick Bortolani scored twice and had one assist against MSJ.
Nick Bortolani scored twice and had one assist against MSJ.

Twenty-three first half goals were enough to power No. 15 Denison past The College of Mount St. Joseph, 29-1, on Saturday afternoon from Piper Stadium. 

Seventeen different Big Red players accounted for the team's 29 goals.  Hat tricks were turned in by Luke Walsh, Liam Rooney, and Blair Farinholt.  Walsh also added two assists to lead the team in points.

As a team, Denison outshot the Lions 73-12 while gathering 52 ground balls to Mount St. Joseph's 12.  DU dominated at X, winning 25 of 33 face-off's.  Eric Baumgardner was 14-of-16 and paced the squad with nine ground balls.  The Big Red's trio of goalies, Chris Thomas, Clark Bullington, and Will Nabors combined for two saves.  Thomas got the win by playing the first 30 minutes.  He posted one save.

DU was 3-for-6 in extra-man while MSJ finished 0-for-4.

The Big Red will get its first major test next Saturday (Feb. 22) when they travel to No. 14 Washington and Lee for a 1 p.m. clash with the Generals. Last season, W&L got the best of the Big Red in Granville, prevailing 8-7.  It was one of only three losses in the 2013 season for the Big Red.

Game with Wooster postponed
February 28, 2014 Game with Wooster postponed
No. 15 DU overpowers Lions
February 15, 2014 No. 15 DU overpowers Lions