Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
Sat Sep 08
TBA
Denison
at Kenyon Invitational
in Gambier, Ohio
Sun Sep 09
TBA
Denison
at Kenyon Invitational
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Sep 15
TBA
Denison
at Oberlin Invitational
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sun Sep 16
TBA
Denison
at Oberlin Invitational
in Oberlin, Ohio
Fri Sep 28
TBA
Denison
vs. ITA Regional
@ St. Louis, Mo. in St. Louis, Mo.
Sat Sep 29
TBA
Denison
vs. ITA Regional
@ St. Louis, Mo. in St. Louis, Mo.
Sun Sep 30
TBA
Denison
vs. ITA Regional
@ St. Louis, Mo. in St. Louis, Mo.
Mon Oct 01
TBA
Denison
vs. ITA Regional
@ St. Louis, Mo. in St. Louis, Mo.
Sun Feb 03
1:00 PM
Denison
at Toledo
in Toledo, Ohio
Sat Feb 09
7:30 PM
Chicago
vs. Denison
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Feb 16
9:00 AM
Rhodes
vs. Denison
@ Gambier, Ohio in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Mar 02
10:00 AM
Denison
at Hope
in Holland, Mich.
Sun Mar 03
9:30 AM
Denison
at Kalamazoo
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Wed Mar 06
4:30 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Mon Mar 18
1:00 PM
Denison
vs. Tufts
@ Claremont, Calif. in Claremont, Calif.
Tue Mar 19
10:00 AM
Denison
vs. Sewanee
@ Claremont, Calif. in Claremont, Calif.
Thu Mar 21
1:00 PM
Denison
vs. Bowdoin
@ Whittier College - Whittier, Calif. in Whittier, Calif.
Fri Mar 22
10:00 AM
Babson
vs. Denison
@ Claremont, Calif. in Claremont, Calif.
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

#9 Carnegie Mellon trips up Big Red

Patrick McGuigan  |  Photo by Curt Ashcraft
Patrick McGuigan | Photo by Curt Ashcraft

PITTSBURGH, Pa. – Denison men's tennis traveled to Pittsburgh, Pa. on Saturday afternoon where they fell to No. 9 Carnegie Mellon University, 7-2, at the CMU Tennis Courts.

In doubles play, DU's No. 1 pairing of Kevin Brown and Jamie McDonald were edged by the nation's 15th best combo of Daniel Levine and Chaz Downing, 8-6. The Big Red countered with a win in No. 2 doubles when freshmen Mitchell Thai and Vlad Rotnov posted an 8-4 defeat of Nicholas Calzolano and Ben Ash, but the Tartans took a 2-1 advantage after doubles competition following an 8-2 defeat of Tommy Cheng and Kailas Shekar over DU's Blake Burstein and Patrick McGuigan in No. 3 doubles.

On the singles courts, CMU took the first five matches led by the nation's second-ranked singles player, Daniel Levine, earning a 6-2, 6-3 win over Rotnov in No. 1 play. On the No. 4 court, Brown dropped the first set to Shekar, 7-5, but rebounded in the second set, 6-1. Entering the third set tied at 1-1, Shekar took the match with a 6-2 set win.

No. 5 singles also saw a battle when Danish Siddiquie took the first set 7-5 over Robert Levin, but then fell in the next two sets, 6-2 and 6-4 to drop the match. The Big Red did pick up a win in No. 6 singles when McGuigan took the first set, 6-3, over Joshua Pinckney, but Pinckney then forced a third set with a 6-2 second set win. McGuigan earned the win with a 6-4 third set victory.

The Big Red will stay on the road this coming Wednesday, April 4 when they head to Gambier, Ohio for a 4:30 p.m. start with No. 22 Kenyon College.