Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Fri Mar 16
at Washington & Lee University
in Lexington City, Va.
Sat Mar 17
at Washington & Lee University
in Lexington City, Va.
Sat Mar 31
at Carnegie Mellon Quad Meet 3rd Place
in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Fri Apr 06
at Marv Frye Invitational
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Apr 07
at Marv Frye Invitational
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Apr 14
at All-Ohio Championships 7th Place
in Delaware, Ohio
Fri Apr 20
at Jesse Owens Classic
in Columbus, Ohio
Sat Apr 21
at Jesse Owens Classic
in Columbus, Ohio
Sat Apr 21
at Kenyon Spring Invitational 6th Place
in Gambier, Ohio
Fri Apr 27
Big Red Invitational
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 28
at NCAC Combined Events Championships
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sun Apr 29
at NCAC Combined Events Championships
in Oberlin, Ohio
Fri May 04
12 p.m.
at NCAC Championship
in Meadville, Pa.
Sat May 05
10 a.m.
at NCAC Championship 5th Place
in Meadville, Pa.
Fri May 11
2:00 pm
at Harrison Dillard Twilight
in Berea, Ohio
Wed May 16
at Gregory Invitational
in Naperville, Ill.
Thu May 17
at Gregory Invitational
in Naperville, Ill.
Thu May 17
at Great Lakes Elite Meet
in Delaware, Ohio
View Full Schedule

Big Red in striking distance at NCAC Championship

David Carter  |  Photo by Bret Dunbar
David Carter | Photo by Bret Dunbar

CRAWFORDSVILLE, Ind. – After day one of the North Coast Athletic Conference Men's Indoor Track and Field Championship, the Big Red sits in fourth place with 27 team points, only nine points behind first-place Ohio Wesleyan (36 points). DePauw totaled 31 points in second place, and Wabash trails by only three points (28) in third.

Leading the first day of action was Denison's trio of David Carter, Isaac Reed and James Dixie in the triple jump, combining for 22 total points. After breaking the Denison and Mitchell Fieldhouse record at last week's NCAC Last Chance Meet, Carter followed that up with a first-place finish at the conference meet, jumping 47'0.25" (14.33 meters).

Reed landed right behind Carter in second-place with a new personal-best distance of 44'8.25" (13.62 meters), and Dixie rounded out the group, placing fifth with a PR jump of 43'3.00" (13.18 meters).

The Big Red also earned a pair of top-10 finishes in the field, and on the track. In the shot put, sophomore Bryce Stricker placed 10th overall with a throw of 42'6.75" (12.96 meters), while the group of Clayton Watters, Jack Ruddy, Adam Cromwell and Ben Foster finished sixth in the distance medley relay, clocking in at 10:50.02.

Senior Zach Munn garnered a fourth-place spot in the 800-meter prelims with a new indoor personal record of 2:00.63, qualifying him for tomorrow's event final.

Denison will return to Knowling Fieldhouse on Saturday, March 3 to round out the final day of the NCAC Indoor Championships in Crawfordsville, Ind. Field events will begin at 10 a.m.