Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
Sat Dec 01
11 a.m. / 1 p.m.
at Toy Drive Invitational
in Alliance, Ohio
Sat Jan 19
at Dave Lehman Open
in Westerville, Ohio
Sat Jan 26
12 p.m. / 2:30 p.m.
at Fighting Scots Invitational
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Feb 02
Bob Shannon Invitational
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 02
All-Ohio Combined Events Championship
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Feb 03
All-Ohio Combined Events Championship
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 09
at Roanoke College DIII Challenge
in Salem, Va.
Sat Feb 16
at Kenyon Classic
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Feb 16
at Kent State Tune-Up
in Kent, Ohio
Fri Feb 22
NCAC Last Chance Meet
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 23
at NCAC Combined Events Championship
in Gambier, Ohio
Sun Feb 24
at NCAC Combined Events Championship
in Gambier, Ohio
Fri Mar 01
at NCAC Championship
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Mar 02
at NCAC Championship
in Wooster, Ohio
Fri Mar 08
vs. NCAA Championship
@ Reggie Lewis Center in Boston, Mass.
Sat Mar 09
vs. NCAA Championship
@ Reggie Lewis Center in Boston, Mass.
Sat Mar 16
at Muskie Duals
in New Concord, Ohio
Fri Mar 29
at Hilltop Classic
in Birmingham, Ala.
Sat Apr 06
at Marv Frye Invitational
in Delaware, Ohio
Wed Apr 10
2 p.m.
Denison-Wooster Dual Meet
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 13
at All-Ohio Championship
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Apr 20
at Kenyon Spring Invitational
in Gambier, Ohio
Fri Apr 26
Big Red Invitational
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 27
at NCAC Combined Events Championship
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sun Apr 28
at NCAC Combined Events Championship
in Oberlin, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Big Red compete at OSU and Kenyon

Austin Burgess  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Austin Burgess | Photo by Jace Delgado

GRANVILLE, Ohio – Denison men's track and field competed in multiple locations this weekend, taking part in the 2018 Jesse Owens Classic at the Ohio State University on Friday and Saturday afternoon, and then at the Kenyon Spring Invitational on Saturday in Gambier where they placed sixth as a team.

At Ohio State, junior David Carter led the Big Red finishes, placing fifth in the triple jump with a leap of 45'6.5" (13.88 meters). Ivan Maldonado also competed at OSU, placing ninth overall in the javelin with a throw of 158'1" (48.18 meters).

In Gambier, Denison was led by sophomore James Dixie who totaled two new personal records on the afternoon, one in the javelin throw where he won the event with a 161'9" (49.32 meters) and the other in the long jump, taking fourth place with a distance of 20'5.25" (6.23 meters). In the javelin, Dixie was followed closely by teammate Ryan Fleming who placed third with a PR throw of 143' (43.58 meters). He also finished third in the high jump with a height of 5'8.75".

In the hammer throw, sophomore Bryce Stricker continued his dominance as he broke his own school record once again with second place distance of 162'11" (49.66 meters). He was followed by teammates Austin McManus in seventh place (126'6") and Austin Burgess in 10th (105'1"). McManus also competed in the discus event where he placed fifth with a 115'2" (35.10 meters), and Burgess set a new personal best in the shot put with a seventh-place throw of 39'1.25" (11.92 meters).

On the track, junior Niall Clancey led the Big Red in the 800-meter run with a new PR time of 1:58.75 in third place. Kenny Connelly followed in 18th place (2:07.89) and Jake Ball in 20th (2:08.97). Clancey also teamed up with Isaac Andrews, Jack Ruddy and Zach Munn in the 4X400 meter relay to place third with a time of 3:31.92. Andrews also added a pair of eighth-place finishes in the 200 and 400-meter races, logging a 23.44 in the 200 and a 51.99 in the 400.

Denison earned a third-place finish in the 4X100 meter relay with the quartet of Ruddy, Alex Chin, Jake Coplin and Dee Brown, who crossed the finish line in 44.49.

In the 1,500-meter run, Adam Cromwell set a new PR in third place after clocking in with a time of 15:55.74. Rounding out the track events in the hurdles was Isaac Reed's fourth-place finish in the 110-meter hurdles (15.86) and Max Giarrusso's seventh-place mark in the 400-meter hurdles (1:05.46).

The Big Red will return to Granville on Friday, April 27 to host the 2018 Big Red Invitational at Deeds Field-Piper Stadium.