Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Sat Nov 10
Final
52 Denison
76 at #9 Trine
in Angola, Ind.
Fri Nov 16
Final
52 Worcester St.
64 vs. Denison
@ Hunter in New York, N.Y. - Hunter Tip-Off Tournament
Sat Nov 17
Final
100 Denison
74 at Hunter
in New York, N.Y. - Hunter Tip-Off Tournament Championship
Tue Nov 20
6:00 PM
Case Western Reserve
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Nov 25
1:00 PM
Emory
vs. Denison
@ Transylvania in Lexington, Ky. - Transylvania Hilliard Lyons Tournament
Wed Nov 28
6:00 PM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Dec 01
1:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Wed Dec 05
6:00 PM
Hiram
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Mon Dec 10
7:30 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Thu Dec 13
7:00 PM
Denison
at Heidelberg
in Tiffin, Ohio
Thu Dec 20
5:00 PM
La Roche
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 29
3:00 PM
Denison
at Cincinnati Christian
in Cincinnati, Ohio
Thu Jan 03
7:30 PM
Kenyon
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 05
1:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 09
8:00 PM
DePauw
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 12
1:00 PM
Denison
at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Jan 16
5:30 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Jan 19
1:00 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 23
8:00 PM
Denison
at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Wed Jan 30
7:00 PM
Denison
at Miami-Middletown
in Middletown, Ohio
Sat Feb 02
1:00 PM
Oberlin
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 06
6:00 PM
Wooster
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 09
1:00 PM
Allegheny
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 13
6:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Feb 16
1:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Women’s Basketball rolls past MSJ

Alison Schafer  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Alison Schafer | Photo by Jace Delgado

CINCINNATI, Ohio -- Senior Brittany Atkinson and sophomore Lauren Hofer led the way with 16 points each as Denison women's basketball traveled south on Tuesday night and defeated Mount St. Joseph University, 73-51, at the Harrington Center.

Holding the Lions to 27% shooting for the game, including 3-of-17 from the field in the first and third quarters, Atkinson and sophomore Aliyah Hunter buried the first two three-pointers of the night to open the contest on a 10-4 scoring run for DU. The pair totaled seven points each in the first quarter to take a 22-15 lead into the second frame.

The Big Red began to pull away in the second quarter thanks to a combined eight points from Hofer and Sydney MacBlane that assisted in a 16-3 scoring run to end the half. Denison shot 50 percent from the floor in the second period and outrebounded the Lions, 10-6, to take a 41-25 lead into intermission.

Leading by 16 entering the second half, DU took a 20-point lead with 5:26 to play in the third when an MSJ turnover was finished by Alison Schafer to go up, 48-28. A pair of three from Addie Buzas helped the Big Red take a 51-32 lead entering the final quarter.

The Lions were able to outscore Denison 10-3 to begin the fourth, but the Big Red countered with back-to-back threes from Atkinson and Valesha Province to outscore Mount St. Joseph in all four periods and earn their third win of the season, 73-51.

Denison won the rebounding battle, 50-37, and had three different players finish with double-figures. Hofer (16) and Hunter (11) totaled career-highs in points scored, while Atkinson added eight rebounds to her 16 points. The Lions were led by Lainee Studer with 15 points and six assists and Maddie Haberthy's 12 points.

The Big Red will return to action this Saturday, Nov. 25 as they travel to Marietta, Ohio to take part in the 33rd annual Jim Meagle Turkey Shoot at Marietta College. They will square off with the Pioneers at 6 p.m. at Ban Johnson Arena.

Atkinson shines on Senior Day
February 10, 2018 Atkinson shines on Senior Day
#7 DePauw takes down Big Red
February 7, 2018 #7 DePauw takes down Big Red
Denison falls to #9 Trine
November 19, 2017 Denison falls to #9 Trine