Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
Sun Feb 25
Final
21 #24 Denison
3 at Fredonia
in Fredonia, N.Y.
Thu Mar 01
Final
9 Redlands
11 #25 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Mar 04
Final
4 #25 Denison
17 at #1 Gettysburg
in Gettysburg, Pa.
Wed Mar 14
Final - 2OT
12 Ill. Wesleyan
13 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 17
Final
16 Denison
12 vs. Dickinson
@ Vanderbilt in Nashville, Tenn (Natchez Field)
Tue Mar 20
Final
12 Rhodes
9 vs. Denison
@ Vanderbilt in Nashville, Tenn. (Natchez Field)
Sun Mar 25
Final
3 Baldwin Wallace
19 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 31
Final
9 Allegheny
21 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 07
Final
14 Denison
7 at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sun Apr 08
Final
3 Ohio Wesleyan
19 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Apr 11
Final
23 Denison
6 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Apr 14
Final
6 Wooster
20 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Apr 18
Final
14 Denison
8 at John Carroll
in University Heights, Ohio
Sat Apr 21
Final
26 Denison
2 at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Wed Apr 25
6:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Apr 28
1:00 PM
Oberlin
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
View Full Schedule

Second half surge pushes DU past Oberlin

Whitney Powel finished with 6 caused turnovers, 8 ground balls and 3 goals against Oberlin.
Whitney Powel finished with 6 caused turnovers, 8 ground balls and 3 goals against Oberlin.

Denison outscored Oberlin 6-1 over the final 30 minutes of play to cap off a 10-6 victory over the Yeowomen from Deeds Field-Piper Stadium.  Powered by three first half goals by Grace Barlow, Oberlin found themselves leading the Big Red, 5-4 at the intermission despite being outshot 19-7 over in the half.

DU kept the pedal to the metal in the second half, scoring six-straight goals over the first 20 minutes of play.  All six of DU's second half tallies were scored by different players as Elsie Humes got things started with her game-tying goal at the 26:43 mark of the period.  Erin Keller followed with an unassisted goal eight minutes later. Then Claire Ludlow found Whitney Powel for her third goal of the contest with 17:21 remaining.  Just over one minute later, Reid Hirschey slammed home an unassisted score to put DU on top 8-5.

That would be all of the breathing room DU would need as Lauren Adams and Ludlow rounded out Denison's scoring in the half.

Powel paced Denison with three goals, eight ground balls, and six caused turnovers.  The six caused turnovers and eight ground balls were both season-highs for Powel.

Humes contributed four caused turnovers, and five ground balls while Keller ended with four caused turnovers, and four draw controls.

Denison outshot Oberlin 39-12.  The Yeowomen committed 37 turnovers, 21 of which were caused by the Big Red.  The ground ball game was won by Denison, 28-23, while Oberlin held an 11-4 advantage in saves.

With the win, Denison improves to 5-2 overall and 1-1 in the North Coast Athletic Conference.  Oberlin falls to 5-1 and 1-1 in conference play.  Denison will hit the road for back-to-back games at Augustana (Ill.) on Saturday (April 5) and at DePauw on Sunday (April 6).