No events to show.

Ludlow's 5 goals push DU past Kenyon

Claire Ludlow scored 5 goals in the win over Kenyon.
Claire Ludlow scored 5 goals in the win over Kenyon.

Claire Ludlow scored five goals and Elsie Humes and Lauren Adams both added hat tricks as Denison earned a 16-12 road victory over Kenyon on Wednesday afternoon.

Denison scored eight of the first nine goals in the game resulting in an 8-1 lead with 17 minutes to play in the opening half.  The Big Red would cool off as the first half drew to a close.  Kenyon scored two of the last three goals of the half and trailed 10-4 at the intermission.

In the second half, the Ladies opened with a 4-0 run spanning the first 10 minutes of the period, cutting the Denison lead to 10-8.  Ludlow would stop the bleeding momentarily with a goal off a pass from Whitney Powel, but Kenyon's Kate Lang would come right back with a goal at the 15:24 mark.

The two teams would trade-off goals once again as Molly Chapman scored via an 8-meter attempt, and Kenyon's Kelley Russell scored to make the score 12-10 with 11:07 left.

It would remain a two-goal affair until Ludlow's unassisted tally with 6:05 left gave her team some breathing room.  Over the final 2:51, five goals would be scored, with three coming from the Big Red and two from the Ladies, setting the final at 16-12.

In addition to Ludlow, Humes and Adams' big games, Powel added one goal and three assists while Chapman finished with two goals and 10 draw controls.

Laura Van Horn posted seven saves in goal before leaving the game with 11 minutes to play following an injury.  Ansley Gibson finished the game and posted two saves.

Kenyon was led by Alex Bair who scored five goals and added two assists.  Meredith Bentsen recorded 14 saves in the cage for Kenyon.

Denison improves to 10-4 and 5-2 in the North Coast Athletic Conference while Kenyon drops to 8-6 and 2-5 in conference play.  Denison's regular season finale will take place at Hiram College on Saturday at 1 p.m.  DU has qualified for the NCAC Tournament which will begin next Thursday (May 1) at a site to be determined.