Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sun Feb 25
Final
21 #24 Denison
3 at Fredonia
in Fredonia, N.Y.
Thu Mar 01
Final
9 Redlands
11 #25 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Mar 04
Final
4 #25 Denison
17 at #1 Gettysburg
in Gettysburg, Pa.
Wed Mar 14
Final - 2OT
12 Ill. Wesleyan
13 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 17
Final
16 Denison
12 vs. Dickinson
@ Vanderbilt in Nashville, Tenn (Natchez Field)
Tue Mar 20
Final
12 Rhodes
9 vs. Denison
@ Vanderbilt in Nashville, Tenn. (Natchez Field)
Sun Mar 25
Final
3 Baldwin Wallace
19 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 31
Final
9 Allegheny
21 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 07
Final
14 Denison
7 at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sun Apr 08
Final
3 Ohio Wesleyan
19 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Apr 11
Final
23 Denison
6 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Apr 14
Final
6 Wooster
20 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Apr 18
Final
14 Denison
8 at John Carroll
in University Heights, Ohio
Sat Apr 21
Final
26 Denison
2 at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Wed Apr 25
Final
23 Denison
0 at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Apr 28
Final
6 Oberlin
17 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed May 02
Final
8 Allegheny
24 Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAC Tournament Semifinal
Sat May 05
Final
10 Wooster
17 Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAC Tournament Championship
Sat May 12
Final
4 Calvin
21 Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAA Tournament Second Round
Sat May 19
Final
4 Denison
16 at Salisbury
in Salisbury, Md. - NCAA Regional Semifinal
View Full Schedule

DU scores early and often to defeat Mt. Union

Maddy Heher  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Maddy Heher | Photo by Jace Delgado

ALLIANCE, Ohio--  Denison scored the first six goals of the game and that cushion was enough to propel the Big Red to a 15-7 victory over Mount Union on Tuesday night.

DU dominated the early goings as the Big Red scored six times in the first 13 minutes of play to take a 6-0 lead.  Leah Israel broke the scoreless tie three minutes into the contest.  She won the ensuing draw and quickly got the ball to Claire Ludlow who scored the fastbreak goal, giving Denison a 2-0 lead.

Minutes later, Maddy Heher scored on a free-position attempt and with 19 minutes left in the first half, Reid Hirschey scored on an assist by Annie McMahon, putting DU on top, 4-0.

The next two tallies came from McMahon via an 8-meter attempt and Graham McIntosh on an unassisted goal with 13:19 left in the half.

The Purple Raiders struggled when clearing the ball in the opening half and Denison was there to capitalize.  Mount Union was just 3-of-9 in the first half.  They turned the ball over 10 times and Denison was there to double them up in shot attempts, 16-8.

In the second half, Denison outscored Mount Union 5-3 as Heyer scored again to notch her first career hat trick.  Virginia Hamilton finished with two goals on three shots and Ludlow totaled two goals and one assist.

Israel paced DU with four ground balls and four draw controls and Jane Goodspeed caused three turnovers.  Becca Jones notched three saves while facing 10 shots on goal.

Mount Union was led offensively by Alyssa Rydell's three goals.  Danielle Rohrman scored twice while leading her team with seven shots.  Nikki Bonaduce posted nine saves for the Raiders.

Denison outshot Mount Union, 27-17 while holding a 22-20 edge in ground balls.  The Big Red improves to 5-3 with the win while UMU drops to 5-2.  Denison opens North Coast Athletic Conference play on Saturday (April 1) at 3 p.m. at Piper Stadium. 

Saturday is Denison's annual One Love benefit game played to raise funds and awareness in an effort to combat domestic violence.  The foundation was created in memory of Yeardley Love, a University of Virginia senior lacrosse player who was beaten to death by her ex-boyfriend just weeks short of graduation in 2010.

#9 Brockport rallies past DU
February 26, 2017 #9 Brockport rallies past DU