Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sun Feb 25
Final
21 #24 Denison
3 at Fredonia
in Fredonia, N.Y.
Thu Mar 01
Final
9 Redlands
11 #25 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Mar 04
Final
4 #25 Denison
17 at #1 Gettysburg
in Gettysburg, Pa.
Wed Mar 14
Final - 2OT
12 Ill. Wesleyan
13 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 17
Final
16 Denison
12 vs. Dickinson
@ Vanderbilt in Nashville, Tenn (Natchez Field)
Tue Mar 20
Final
12 Rhodes
9 vs. Denison
@ Vanderbilt in Nashville, Tenn. (Natchez Field)
Sun Mar 25
Final
3 Baldwin Wallace
19 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 31
Final
9 Allegheny
21 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 07
Final
14 Denison
7 at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sun Apr 08
Final
3 Ohio Wesleyan
19 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Apr 11
Final
23 Denison
6 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Apr 14
Final
6 Wooster
20 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Apr 18
Final
14 Denison
8 at John Carroll
in University Heights, Ohio
Sat Apr 21
Final
26 Denison
2 at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Wed Apr 25
Final
23 Denison
0 at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Apr 28
Final
6 Oberlin
17 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed May 02
Final
8 Allegheny
24 Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAC Tournament Semifinal
Sat May 05
Final
10 Wooster
17 Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAC Tournament Championship
Sat May 12
Final
4 Calvin
21 Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAA Tournament Second Round
Sat May 19
Final
4 Denison
16 at Salisbury
in Salisbury, Md. - NCAA Regional Semifinal
View Full Schedule

Denison wins wild one with Tigers

Becca Jones  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Becca Jones | Photo by Jace Delgado

GRANVILLE, Ohio—Trailing 8-7 at halftime, Denison outscored Wittenberg 12-5 over the final 30 minutes to hand the Tigers a 19-13 defeat at Piper Stadium.  The win moves Denison to 6-3 overall and keeps them atop the North Coast Athletic Conference standings at 2-0.

Denison asserted their dominance in the opening seconds of the second half as Kiely Noonan scored on a free-position attempt 25 seconds into the period.  DU took the ensuing draw and Claire Ludlow scored quickly, putting her team on top 9-8.  Denison never relinquished their lead as Noonan and Ludlow's goals started a streak of seven-straight goals by the Big Red.  All seven of Denison's goals came in the first 10 minutes of the second half.  The closest Wittenberg would get was 16-12 with 9:24 to play.

Ludlow finished with five goals and one assist running her career goal's scored total to 154.  She is just one goal away from tying Carol Allen '16 for third place on DU's all-time goal scoring list.

Claudia Rafi scored four goals and had one assist and Maddy Heher tallied three goals and two helpers.  Noonan followed with a hat trick and one assist and Reid Hirschey posted two goals and one assist.  Leah Isreal and Lee Hayman rounded out the scoring with one goal apiece.

Wittenberg held a 33-32 edge in shots but Denison's goalies combined for 13 saves.  Hannah Magarian posted six saves while playing the first half.  Becca Jones tallied seven saves in the second half, aiding the Denison comeback.

There were 88 fouls called and 12 yellow cards issued in the game.  Jane Goodspeed paced the defense with four caused turnovers. She also led the team with four draw controls.

Wittenberg was led in scoring by Becca Joseph's three goals on eight shot attempts.  Gretchen Burkey had six ground balls and Emily Wadds led all players with 13 draw controls.  Tiger goalie Mary Furlong tallied nine saves while playing all 60 minutes.

Denison returns to action on Saturday (April 8) when they travel to Oberlin for a 1 p.m. draw against the Yeowomen.

#9 Brockport rallies past DU
February 26, 2017 #9 Brockport rallies past DU