Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Sat Feb 24
1:00 PM
Denison
at Brockport
in Brockport, N.Y.
Sun Feb 25
1:00 PM
Denison
at Fredonia
in Fredonia, N.Y.
Thu Mar 01
4:00 PM
Redlands
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Mar 04
1:00 PM
Denison
at Gettysburg
in Gettysburg, Pa.
Wed Mar 14
7:00 PM
Ill. Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 17
1:00 PM
Dickinson
vs. Denison
@ Nashville, Tenn. In Nashville, Tenn.
Tue Mar 20
4:00 PM
Rhodes
vs. Denison
@ Nashville, Tenn. in Nashville, Tenn.
Sun Mar 25
3:00 PM
Baldwin Wallace
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 31
12:00 PM
Allegheny
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 07
11:00 AM
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sun Apr 08
2:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Apr 11
7:00 PM
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Apr 14
1:00 PM
Wooster
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Apr 18
6:30 PM
Denison
at John Carroll
in University Heights, Ohio
Sat Apr 21
1:00 PM
Denison
at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Wed Apr 25
6:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Apr 28
1:00 PM
Oberlin
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
View Full Schedule

Big Red remains perfect in NCAC play

Jane Goodspeed  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Jane Goodspeed | Photo by Jace Delgado

DELAWARE, Ohio--  Denison locked up at least a share of the 2017 North Coast Athletic Conference Women's Lacrosse Championship following an 18-4 victory over Ohio Wesleyan on Saturday.

The Big Red opened up a 10-0 lead in the first 20 minutes of the contest.  Claudia Rafi scored the first goal of the game while playing shorthanded after a yellow card was issued on Leah IsraelClaire Ludlow, Kiely Noonan and Reid Hirschey followed with unassisted goals over the next six minutes, putting DU on top 5-0.

The next five goals came from Virginia Hamilton (two), Noonan, Hirschey, and Ludlow.  Before halftime, Lee Hayman and Israel got into the scoring act, giving their squad a 12-1 lead at the break.

Noonan led all scorers with four goals while Israel and Rafi followed with hat tricks.  Hamilton, Hirschey and Ludlow scored twice.  Jane Goodspeed finished with four ground balls, three draw controls and two caused turnovers. Becca Jones got the start and posted three saves in 30 minutes of action.

DU held a 28-14 advantage in shots. They also won 17 of 22 draws taken on the day and were 5-of-6 on free position shot attempts.

The Big Red will look to seal up their 19th NCAC Championship on Wednesday when they host Kenyon College at 4 p.m. 

#9 Brockport rallies past DU
February 26, 2017 #9 Brockport rallies past DU