Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
Wed Apr 25
Final
23 Denison
0 at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Apr 28
Final
6 Oberlin
17 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed May 02
Final
8 Allegheny
24 Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAC Tournament Semifinal
Sat May 05
Final
10 Wooster
17 Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAC Tournament Championship
Sat May 12
Final
4 Calvin
21 Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAA Tournament Second Round
Sat May 19
Final
4 Denison
16 at Salisbury
in Salisbury, Md. - NCAA Regional Semifinal
Sat Feb 23
12:00 PM
Brockport
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Feb 24
1:00 PM
Fredonia
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Mar 03
1:00 PM
Denison
at Gettysburg
in Gettysburg, Pa.
Thu Mar 07
4:30 PM
Rhodes
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Mar 13
5:00 PM
Denison
at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Tue Mar 19
4:30 PM
Trinity (Conn.)
vs. Denison
@ Port Charlotte, Fla. in Port Charlotte, Fla.
Wed Mar 20
5:00 PM
Denison
vs. Geneseo
@ Englewood, FLA
Fri Mar 22
1:00 PM
Rowan
vs. Denison
@ Port Charlotte, Fla. in Port Charlotte, Fla.
Sat Mar 30
1:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Wed Apr 03
7:00 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Apr 06
4:00 PM
Hiram
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Apr 10
6:00 PM
Denison
at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Apr 13
3:00 PM
DePauw
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Apr 16
4:30 PM
Wittenberg
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Apr 17
6:30 PM
John Carroll
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Apr 24
4:00 PM
Denison
at York (Pa.)
in York, Pa.
Sat Apr 27
1:00 PM
Kenyon
Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Denison falls to Rhodes in Music City

Kiely Noonan  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Kiely Noonan | Photo by Jace Delgado

NASHVILLE, Tenn.—Denison suffered a 12-9 loss to Rhodes College on Tuesday on the campus of Vanderbilt University.  The Lynx scored five of the last six goals of the game to improve to 7-3 on the season.  With the loss, Denison drops to 4-2.

Big Red attacker Kiely Noonan scored three goals in the first half, helping Denison take a 3-2 lead at the midway point of the first half.  Rhodes responded with three straight goals from Kendall Cunningham, swinging the advantage back to the Lynx.  With 1:03 left in the first, Claudia Rafi ended the Rhodes scoring run to send the two squads into the break at 5-4.

Noonan scored the next three goals in the second half and with 13:14 left in the game, her sixth and final goal tied it at 7-7.  A minute later, after a caused turnover by Lindsey Karsh, Halle Walsh gave Denison an 8-7 lead.

A foul on Denison with just over 10 minutes left gave the Lynx a free position attempt that was successfully converted by Ashley Doyle.  The game turned in Rhodes' favor on the ensuing draw when Doyle secured possession and shortly after, Maggie Rippeto scored, giving the lead back to the Lynx.

With 8:29 left, a goal by Rafi after a draw control by Noonan pulled DU to within one at 10-9.  That is as close as they would get.

Noonan's six goals matched a career-high set earlier this season against Fredonia. She also led the team with four draw controls.  Defensively, Emily Marlatt and Karsh led the team with three caused turnovers.

Rhodes got five goals apiece from Ashley Doyle and Kendall Cunningham. Doyle also piled up seven draw controls, four caused turnovers and four ground balls.  Lauren Lazure played all 60 minutes in goal and made 11 saves.

Becca Jones started in goal for Denison and made five saves in 30 minutes. Hannah Magarian played the second half and turned in three saves.

Rhodes edged Denison in shots, 27-25. Six of Rhodes' 12 goals came via free position attempts.

Denison will host Baldwin Wallace at 3 p.m. on Sunday, March 25.