Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Fri Oct 12
5 p.m.
at Akron Zip Classic
in Akron, Ohio
Sat Oct 13
10 a.m. / 5 p.m.
at Akron Zip Classic
in Akron, Ohio
Sat Oct 20
1 p.m.
at Eastern Michigan University
in Ypsilanti, Mich.
Fri Nov 02
6 p.m.
at Ohio State University
in Columbus, Ohio
Sat Nov 03
1 p.m.
Xavier University
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Nov 10
10 a.m.
Kenyon College
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Nov 29
10 a.m. / 6 p.m.
Denison Invitational
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Nov 30
10 a.m. / 6 p.m.
Denison Invitational
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 01
10 a.m. / 6 p.m.
Denison Invitational
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 12
3 p.m.
at Univ. of Indianapolis/Carson-Newman Tri-Meet
in Indianapolis, Ind.
Fri Jan 18
4 p.m.
University of Pittsburgh
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 19
1 p.m.
Carnegie Mellon
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 02
10 a.m.
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Wed Feb 13
6:30 p.m.
NCAC Championship
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Feb 14
10:30 a.m. / 6:30 p.m.
NCAC Championship
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Feb 15
10:30 a.m. / 6:30 p.m.
NCAC Championship
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 16
10:30 a.m. / 6:30 p.m.
NCAC Championship
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 23
12:30 p.m.
at Kenyon Invitational
in Gambier, Ohio
Fri Mar 01
at NCAA Diving Regionals
TBA
Sat Mar 02
at NCAA Diving Regionals
TBA
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

#3 Denison women secure tri-meet sweep at CMU

Zoe Whelan  |  Photo by Dennis Lowe
Zoe Whelan | Photo by Dennis Lowe

PITTSBURGH, Pa. – Thanks to nine first-place finishes and 10 NCAA 'B' cut times, No. 3 Denison women's swimming and diving took down two other top 10 nationally ranked teams on Saturday afternoon, defeating No. 4 Johns Hopkins University 183-111, and then host No. 10 Carnegie Mellon University, 227-72.

Garnering four of the nine top finishes was sophomore KT Kustritz, who joined Angela Le, Maddie Hopkins and Gabriella Nutter to win the 200 medley relay with a 'B' cut time of 1:44.14, and then captured the crown in the 200 freestyle relay with Nutter, Le and Casey Kirby with a time of 1:36.10. Kustritz also took first in the 100 breaststroke (1:01.97) and 200 breaststroke (2:17.61), both were also clocked in as 'B' cut times. Sophomore Kate Mesaros placed second in both events right behind Kustritz with provisional qualifying times of 1:04.73 in the 100 breaststroke and then a 2:22.81 in the 200 breaststroke.

Sophomore Zoe Whelan secured another win and 'B' cut time for the Big Red, finishing first in the 200 butterfly with a time of 2:05.84. Whelan also took third in the 100 butterfly, clocking in at 57.54. DU's Hopkins finished just ahead of Whelan in the 100 with a 57.17, while Le landed in fourth place with a 58.40. Le also touched the wall first in the 100 backstroke, checking in at 57.94.

Natalie Zaravella continued the winning ways for Denison as she took first in the 200 IM with a time of 2:09.55 and then set a new personal record in the 1000 freestyle with a 10:30.54 to finish the event in second. Sophomore Erica Hsu trailed Zaravella by .37 seconds in the 200 IM to place second and then led DU with a second place finish in the 200 backstroke, logging a time of 2:06.20.

In the diving competition, Allison Fitzgerald posted season-bests and won both the one-meter and three-meter dives, posting provisional qualifying six-dive scores of 275.78 in the one-meter and then 272.10 in the three-meter. Naomi Clayton logged her top provisional qualifying scores of the season in both events as well, totaling 258.90 in the one-meter dive (3rd place) and then a 258.75 in the three-meter (2nd place).

The Big Red will return to action on Saturday, Feb. 3 when they host the Battling Bishops of Ohio Wesleyan University in a dual meet that will start at 10 a.m.

Women edged at Kenyon
November 11, 2017 Women edged at Kenyon
Denison women defeat Xavier
November 4, 2017 Denison women defeat Xavier