No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Wed Mar 22
Final
0 Ohio Wesleyan
9 #29 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Mar 29
Final
8 #29 Denison
1 at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Thu Mar 30
Final
5 #29 Lewis & Clark
4 #30 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 01
Final
0 Allegheny
9 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 07
Final
5 #30 Denison
4 vs. Augustana (IL)
@ Cherokee Country Club in Madison, Wis.
Fri Apr 07
Final
7 #19 Case Western Reserve
2 vs. #30 Denison
@ Cherokee Country Club in Madison, Wis.
Sat Apr 08
Final
3 #30 Denison
6 vs. #22 Wisconsin-Whitewater
@ Midwest Invitational in Madison, Wis.
Tue Apr 11
Final
9 Denison
0 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Apr 15
Final
7 #26 DePauw
2 #34 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Apr 20
Final
0 Baldwin Wallace
9 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 28
Final
0 Allegheny
5 Denison
NCAC Championships - Quarterfinal
Sat Apr 29
Final
5 Kenyon
3 Denison
NCAC Championships - Semifinals
Sun Apr 30
Final
5 #36 Oberlin
4 vs. #40 Denison
@ Gambier, Ohio NCAC Championships - Third-Place Match
Thu May 25
TBA
Denison
at NCAA Division III Singles/Doubles Championships
in Chattanooga, Tenn.
Previous Next View Full Schedule

DU shuts out Oxy in spring break opener

Charlotte Purnode
Charlotte Purnode

LOS ANGELES, Calif. -- The 25th-ranked Denison women's tennis team posted their second-consecutive shutout victory with a 9-0 decision over Occidental on Monday night.

The Big Red kicked off the match with a convincing sweep in doubles competition. DU posted two 8-1 victories at first and second doubles, while collecting an 8-2 win at the third flight. Sophomores Lauren Hawley and Emma Alsup picked up their third-straight win at the top flight, while Ashley Hammons and Megan Hickey snapped a two-match skid with a victory at No. 2 doubles. At third doubles, Charlotte Purnode and Olivia Underwood improved to 5-1 on the year.

In singles play, Hawley, Purnode and Carol Vitellas posted 6-0, 6-0 wins at the first, fifth and sixth flights, respectively. Alsup and Hammons both won via 6-1, 6-1 scores at second and fourth singles, while Hickey picked up a 6-0, 6-1 victory at the third flight.

With the win, the Big Red improves to 2-4 overall while the Tigers fall to 1-5 on the year. Denison returns to action on Wednesday (March 15) when they travel to Redlands for a 6 p.m. match.