No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Feb 11
Final
2 Denison
7 at Northwestern Ohio
in Lima, Ohio
Sat Feb 18
Final
8 #10 Chicago
1 vs. #22 Denison
@ Indianapolis, Ind. in Indianapolis, Ind.
Sat Feb 25
Final
7 Indiana (PA)
2 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 04
Final
2 #25 Denison
7 at #29 Hope
in Holland, Mich.
Sun Mar 05
Final
9 #25 Denison
0 at Kalamazoo
in Kalamazoo, Mich.
Mon Mar 13
Final
9 #25 Denison
0 at Occidental
in Los Angeles, Calif.
Wed Mar 15
Final
4 #25 Denison
5 at #24 Redlands
in Redlands, Calif.
Fri Mar 17
Final
0 #25 Denison
9 vs. #8 Wesleyan
@ Claremont, Calif. in Claremont, Calif.
Wed Mar 22
Final
0 Ohio Wesleyan
9 #29 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Mar 29
Final
8 #29 Denison
1 at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Thu Mar 30
Final
5 #29 Lewis & Clark
4 #30 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 01
Final
0 Allegheny
9 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 07
Final
5 #30 Denison
4 vs. Augustana (IL)
@ Cherokee Country Club in Madison, Wis.
Fri Apr 07
Final
7 #19 Case Western Reserve
2 vs. #30 Denison
@ Cherokee Country Club in Madison, Wis.
Sat Apr 08
Final
3 #30 Denison
6 vs. #22 Wisconsin-Whitewater
@ Midwest Invitational in Madison, Wis.
Tue Apr 11
Final
9 Denison
0 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Apr 15
Final
7 #26 DePauw
2 #34 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Apr 20
Final
0 Baldwin Wallace
9 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 28
Final
0 Allegheny
5 Denison
NCAC Championships - Quarterfinal
Sat Apr 29
9:00 AM
Kenyon
Denison
NCAC Championships - Semifinals
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Denison shuts out OWU in NCAC opener

Carol Vitellas  |  Photo by Jason Miller
Carol Vitellas | Photo by Jason Miller

GRANVILLE, Ohio -- The 29th-ranked Big Red kicked off North Coast Athletic Conference West Division action with a 9-0 win over Ohio Wesleyan on Wednesday at the Mitchell Fieldhouse.

Denison grabbed a commanding 3-0 match lead after sweeping doubles play. Sophomores Lauren Hawley and Emma Alsup opened the scoring with a dominating 8-0 win at the top doubles flight. Olivia Underwood and Charlotte Purnode kept things rolling with an 8-2 decision at third doubles. The sweep was completed when Megan Hickey and Ashley Hammons doubled up Lauren Corcoran and Brooke Butterworth at No. 2 doubles, 8-4.

In singles play, the Big Red won five of the sixth flights in straight sets. Hawley, who is ranked fourth in the central region, knocked off the region's 11th-ranked player, Corcoran, via 6-3, 6-2 scores. Alsup followed with a 6-4, 6-2 victory over Casey O'Toole, while Hickey was a 6-3, 6-0 win over Butterworth at third singles. Hammons posted the only three-set win at No. 4 singles, defeating Meryl Reams 7-5, 4-6, 10-4. Purnode picked up her second win of the day with a 6-0, 6-1 decision over Diamond Person at fifth singles, while Carol Vitellas pitched a shutout at the sixth flight (6-0, 6-0) against Amber Sample.

Denison improves to 3-6 over and 1-0 in the NCAC West, while the Bishops fall to 8-4 and 0-1 in divisional play. The Big Red will be back in action next Wednesday (March 29) when they travel to Wooster, Ohio to take on the Fighting Scots. Match time is scheduled for 4:30 p.m.