Sat Jan 21
11:00 am
Denison Lid-Lifter 2nd Place
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 28
12:00 pm
at Fighting Scots Invitational 2nd Place
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Feb 04
12:00 pm
Bob Shannon Invitational 3rd Place
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Feb 05
All-Ohio Combined Events Championship
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 11
12:00 pm
at All-Ohio Championship 10th Place
in Westerville, Ohio
Fri Feb 17
at Ohio State Tune Up
in Columbus, Ohio
Sat Feb 18
12:00 pm
at Kenyon Classic 7th Place
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Feb 18
at Kent State Tune-Up
in Kent, Ohio
Fri Feb 24
5:00 pm
NCAC Last Chance Meet Unscored
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Feb 26
12:30 pm
at NCAC Combined Events Championship
in Wooster, Ohio
Fri Mar 03
at NCAC Championship
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat Mar 04
at NCAC Championship 4th Place
in Oberlin, Ohio
Fri Mar 10
3:35 pm
at NCAA Division III Championship
in Naperville, Ill.
Sat Mar 11
2:00 pm
at NCAA Division III Championship
in Naperville, Ill.
Sat Mar 25
11:00 am
at Carnegie Mellon Invitational 3rd Place
in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Sat Apr 01
11:00 am ET
at Hilltop Classic 5th Place
in Birmingham, Ala.
Sat Apr 01
11:00 am
at Wooster Invitational
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Apr 08
12:00 pm
at Marv Frye Invitational 5th Place
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Apr 15
12:00 pm
at All-Ohio Championship 10th Place
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Apr 22
at Jesse Owens Classic
in Columbus, Ohio
Sat Apr 22
at Kenyon Spring Invitational 6th Place
in Gambier, Ohio
Fri Apr 28
1:30 pm
Denison Big Red Invitational
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 29
12:00 pm
at NCAC Combined Events Championship
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sun Apr 30
1:00 pm
at NCAC Combined Events Championship
in Oberlin, Ohio
Fri May 05
at NCAC Championship
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat May 06
at NCAC Championship
in Greencastle, Ind.
Thu May 25
at NCAA Division III Championship
in Geneva, Ohio
Fri May 26
at NCAA Division III Championship
in Geneva, Ohio
Sat May 27
at NCAA Division III Championship
in Geneva, Ohio
No Event
Previous Next View Full Schedule

Records fall at Last Chance Meet

Arlesha Cospy | Photo by Jace Delgado
Arlesha Cospy | Photo by Jace Delgado

GRANVILLE, Ohio -- Denison's Arlesha Cospy and Ajai Brooks re-wrote the Big Red record book on Friday night at the North Coast Athletic Conference Last Chance Meet held at the Mitchell Fieldhouse.

The DU duo combined to re-set three program records just a week away from the NCAC Indoor Championship meet. Cospy opened the event by re-setting her own school record in the weight throw with a personal-best toss of 50'2.75". That mark was a two-inch improvement on her previous school record and landed her in second place in the event.

The junior thrower returned to the circle later in the night to break a 13-year old school record held by a Denison Hall of Famer. Cospy won the shot put with a heave of 43'5.75" which bested former standout Laura Finkes' school record by a half inch.

Brooks also re-set one of her own records, winning the 60-meter dash in a time of 7.69. The time posted by the sophomore sprinter bested her previous school mark by ninth hundredths of a second, while also besting the Mitchell Fieldhouse record by one tenth of a second. Brooks also ranks tied for second in all of Division III with her time in the 60. In addition to posting the second-best time in the 60, the sophomore also picked up a victory in the 200 after breaking the tape in 25.38. Her winning time, Brooks moves into ninth in nation in the event.

In addition to victories by Cospy and Brooks, freshman Sydney Lerda also collected a win. Lerda was victorious in the 800-meter run after clocking in at 2:30.56. Finishing right behind in second place was senior Shelby Jude with a time of 2:32.29, while freshman Sara Lichtenberg took fifth at 2:35.42. Sophomores Anna Fash and Alyssa Bahel finished two-three in the 3,000-meter event with times of 11:03.04 and 11:07.04, respectively.

Junior Hannah Hall and sophomore Grace Zukowski occupied the second and third spots in the high jump. Hall successfully cleared 5'3", while Zukowski posted a mark of 4'7". Senior Anne Lee finished runner-up in both the long and triple jumps. Lee turned in a mark of 15'6.75" in the long jump, while also posting a combined leap of 33'10" in the triple jump.

In the mile, junior Emily Grabauskas finished third with a time of 5:28.28. Grabauskas' freshman teammate, Erin O'Connor, took fifth with a final time of 5:31.74. Freshmen Bryn Tomczak and Amy Kirk posted top-five finishes in the 60 hurdles. Tomczak checked in at 9.95, while Kirk crossed in 10.42.

Three of Denison's athletes will compete at the 2017 NCAC Combined Events Championships held at Wooster on Saturday and Sunday. The team will return to action next weekend at the 2017 NCAC Championship meet held at Oberlin College.