Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
Sat Dec 02
11 a.m. / 1 p.m.
at Toy Drive Invitational
in Alliance, Ohio
Sat Jan 27
at Fighting Scots Invitational
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Feb 03
Bob Shannon Invitational
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Feb 09
at Ohio Wesleyan Open
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Feb 10
at All-Ohio Championships
in Westerville, Ohio
Sat Feb 17
at Findlay Meet
in Findlay, Ohio
Fri Feb 23
NCAC Last Chance Meet
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 24
NCAC Combined Events Championships
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Feb 25
NCAC Combined Events Championships
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Mar 02
at NCAC Indoor Championships
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
Sat Mar 03
at NCAC Indoor Championships
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
Fri Mar 09
at NCAA Indoor Championships
in Birmingham, Ala.
Sat Mar 10
at NCAA Indoor Championships
in Birmingham, Ala.
Fri Mar 16
at Washington & Lee University
in Lexington City, Va.
Sat Mar 17
at Washington & Lee University
in Lexington City, Va.
Sat Mar 31
at Carnegie Mellon Quad Meet
in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Sat Apr 07
at Marv Frye Invitational
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Apr 14
at All-Ohio Championships
in Delaware, Ohio
Fri Apr 20
at Jesse Owens Classic
in Columbus, Ohio
Sat Apr 21
at Jesse Owens Classic
in Columbus, Ohio
Sat Apr 21
at Kenyon Spring Invitational
in Gambier, Ohio
Fri Apr 27
Big Red Invitational
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 28
at NCAC Combined Events Championships
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sun Apr 29
at NCAC Combined Events Championships
in Oberlin, Ohio
Fri May 04
at NCAC Championships
in Meadville, Pa.
Sat May 05
at NCAC Championships
in Meadville, Pa.
Fri May 11
at Harrison Dillard Twilight
in Berea, Ohio
Thu May 17
at Great Lakes Elite Meet
in Delaware, Ohio
Thu May 24
at NCAA Championships
in La Crosse, Wis.
Fri May 25
at NCAA Championships
in La Crosse, Wis.
Sat May 26
at NCAA Championships
in La Crosse, Wis.
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Records fall at Last Chance Meet

Arlesha Cospy | Photo by Jace Delgado
Arlesha Cospy | Photo by Jace Delgado

GRANVILLE, Ohio -- Denison's Arlesha Cospy and Ajai Brooks re-wrote the Big Red record book on Friday night at the North Coast Athletic Conference Last Chance Meet held at the Mitchell Fieldhouse.

The DU duo combined to re-set three program records just a week away from the NCAC Indoor Championship meet. Cospy opened the event by re-setting her own school record in the weight throw with a personal-best toss of 50'2.75". That mark was a two-inch improvement on her previous school record and landed her in second place in the event.

The junior thrower returned to the circle later in the night to break a 13-year old school record held by a Denison Hall of Famer. Cospy won the shot put with a heave of 43'5.75" which bested former standout Laura Finkes' school record by a half inch.

Brooks also re-set one of her own records, winning the 60-meter dash in a time of 7.69. The time posted by the sophomore sprinter bested her previous school mark by ninth hundredths of a second, while also besting the Mitchell Fieldhouse record by one tenth of a second. Brooks also ranks tied for second in all of Division III with her time in the 60. In addition to posting the second-best time in the 60, the sophomore also picked up a victory in the 200 after breaking the tape in 25.38. Her winning time, Brooks moves into ninth in nation in the event.

In addition to victories by Cospy and Brooks, freshman Sydney Lerda also collected a win. Lerda was victorious in the 800-meter run after clocking in at 2:30.56. Finishing right behind in second place was senior Shelby Jude with a time of 2:32.29, while freshman Sara Lichtenberg took fifth at 2:35.42. Sophomores Anna Fash and Alyssa Bahel finished two-three in the 3,000-meter event with times of 11:03.04 and 11:07.04, respectively.

Junior Hannah Hall and sophomore Grace Zukowski occupied the second and third spots in the high jump. Hall successfully cleared 5'3", while Zukowski posted a mark of 4'7". Senior Anne Lee finished runner-up in both the long and triple jumps. Lee turned in a mark of 15'6.75" in the long jump, while also posting a combined leap of 33'10" in the triple jump.

In the mile, junior Emily Grabauskas finished third with a time of 5:28.28. Grabauskas' freshman teammate, Erin O'Connor, took fifth with a final time of 5:31.74. Freshmen Bryn Tomczak and Amy Kirk posted top-five finishes in the 60 hurdles. Tomczak checked in at 9.95, while Kirk crossed in 10.42.

Three of Denison's athletes will compete at the 2017 NCAC Combined Events Championships held at Wooster on Saturday and Sunday. The team will return to action next weekend at the 2017 NCAC Championship meet held at Oberlin College.