Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
Sat Dec 02
11 a.m. / 1 p.m.
at Toy Drive Invitational
in Alliance, Ohio
Sat Jan 27
at Fighting Scots Invitational
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Feb 03
Bob Shannon Invitational
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Feb 09
at Ohio Wesleyan Open
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Feb 10
at All-Ohio Championships
in Westerville, Ohio
Sat Feb 17
at Findlay Meet
in Findlay, Ohio
Fri Feb 23
NCAC Last Chance Meet
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 24
NCAC Combined Events Championships
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Feb 25
NCAC Combined Events Championships
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Mar 02
at NCAC Indoor Championships
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
Sat Mar 03
at NCAC Indoor Championships
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
Fri Mar 09
at NCAA Indoor Championships
in Birmingham, Ala.
Sat Mar 10
at NCAA Indoor Championships
in Birmingham, Ala.
Fri Mar 16
at Washington & Lee University
in Lexington City, Va.
Sat Mar 17
at Washington & Lee University
in Lexington City, Va.
Sat Mar 31
at Carnegie Mellon Quad Meet
in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Sat Apr 07
at Marv Frye Invitational
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Apr 14
at All-Ohio Championships
in Delaware, Ohio
Fri Apr 20
at Jesse Owens Classic
in Columbus, Ohio
Sat Apr 21
at Jesse Owens Classic
in Columbus, Ohio
Sat Apr 21
at Kenyon Spring Invitational
in Gambier, Ohio
Fri Apr 27
Big Red Invitational
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 28
at NCAC Combined Events Championships
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sun Apr 29
at NCAC Combined Events Championships
in Oberlin, Ohio
Fri May 04
at NCAC Championships
in Meadville, Pa.
Sat May 05
at NCAC Championships
in Meadville, Pa.
Fri May 11
at Harrison Dillard Twilight
in Berea, Ohio
Thu May 17
at Great Lakes Elite Meet
in Delaware, Ohio
Thu May 24
at NCAA Championships
in La Crosse, Wis.
Fri May 25
at NCAA Championships
in La Crosse, Wis.
Sat May 26
at NCAA Championships
in La Crosse, Wis.
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Big Red takes 4th at NCAC Indoor Championship

Ajai Brooks (center) | Photo by Brett Dunbar
Ajai Brooks (center) | Photo by Brett Dunbar

The Denison women's track and field team posted three record-breaking performances on the final day of the 2017 North Coast Athletic Conference Indoor Championship meet. The Big Red compiled 76 points on their way to a fourth-place finish.

Juniors Hannah Hall and Arlesha Cospy broke their own school records in their respective field events on Saturday. Hall opened the event with a second-place finish in the high jump. The junior successfully cleared 5'7.75" which surpassed her previous school mark by one and a half inches. Hall's mark also ranks her in a tie for fifth among Division III high jumpers this season.

Cospy also bested her own school record in the shot put. The junior's toss of 43'11.25" landed her in third place. It was also a five and a half inch improvement on her previous program mark set at last weekend's NCAC Last Chance meet held at the Mitchell Fieldhouse in Granville.

The Big Red's two victories on the day came from sophomore Ajai Brooks who swept the 60 and 200-meter events. After qualifying for the finals with a time of 7.91, Brooks came back the next day and turned in a winning time of 7.73 which tied Brea Medlock's conference mark set at last year's meet. The sophomore sprinter returned to the track 30 minutes later to win the 200, breaking the tape in 25.34. With that time, Brooks currently ranks ninth in the nation in the event.

Brooks was also part of the 4x200 relay team that finished in fourth place. The grouping of Bren'et Muldrow, Brooks, Sydney Chandler and Mackenzie Mason turned in a time of 1:50.97. Muldrow, Brooks and Chandler also teamed up with Sara Lichtenberg to place sixth in the 4x400 relay. The foursome finished the race in 4:17.17.

Junior Emily Grabauskas took fourth in the mile, turning in a personal-best time of 5:14.59. Grabauskas' time was an almost seven-second improvement off her previous PR and was just 24 hundredths of a second shy of Kate Benson's school record set at last year's NCAC meet.

Sophomore Anna Fash turned in a sixth-place finish in the 3,000-meter event after clocking in at 10:37.02. That time moved Fash into eighth place on the school's top performer's list. Senior Shelby Jude was seventh in the 800 with a time of 2:28.22, while freshman Bryn Tomczak and junior Jessica Nix both scored in the 60 hurdles. Tomczak was seventh with a time of 9.93, while Nix posted a PR time of 9.95 en route to an eighth-place showing.

Oberlin snapped Ohio Wesleyan's string of seven-consecutive outright NCAC Indoor titles while marking the Yeowomen's first championship since 2009 when they shared the honor with the Battling Bishops. Oberlin finished with 181 points, while OWU was second with 143 tallies. Allegheny took third with 133.5 points followed by Denison in fourth and Wooster in fifth (61). Wittenberg (45.5), DePauw (35) and Kenyon (26) rounded out the eight-team field.