Wabash takes opener, Game 2 suspended due to rain

Will McManaman  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Will McManaman | Photo by Jace Delgado

GRANVILLE, Ohio--  Wabash College stayed alive in the hunt for the North Coast Athletic Conference Tournament after a 7-1 win over No. 10/13 Denison in game one of a doubleheader from Big Red Field.  Play was halted due to rain in the second inning of game two with the score tied 0-0.  Game two will be resumed where it left off on Sunday, May 5 at 12 p.m.

Game one was a stellar pitchers duel between Big Red starter Will McManaman and Little Giant starter Kase Lawson.  It was a 1-1 game until the top of the eighth when Matthew Annee hit the first pitch off of Denison reliever Mikey Rivera over the wall in right field. That solo shot sparked a six-run eighth inning for the Little Giants which put the game away.

The bulk of the damage was done on a two-run single by Jackson Blevins.  Sean Roginski had an RBI single to left field to become Wabash College's all-time leader in hits.  In his second at-bat in the inning, Annee laced a single through the right-side scoring Blevins with the sixth run of the frame.

Denison's lone run came in the fourth inning when Daniel Spencer scored on an Anthony Ruggieri ground out with the bases loaded.

McManaman pitched six innings, allowing five hits and one earned run with seven strikeouts.  Lawson pitched 6.1 innings, scattering seven hits while allowing one run with three strikeouts.  The win went to Wabash reliever Zach Moffett who pitched the final 2.2 innings to improve to 4-1 on the season.  The loss was tagged to Rivera who dropped to 3-2.

Taylor Perrett (Denison) and Tyler Dearing (Wabash) are the pitchers of record in game two.  Play will resume with one out in the top of the second inning with Wabash's No. 5 hitter, Canton Terry, at-bat with a 0-0 count.  The Denison Sports Network will provide live video coverage of the conclusion to the doubleheader beginning at 11:45 a.m.

Prior to the start of game one, Denison honored its six seniors: Danny Brackman, Daniel Kurtzer, Grady Paine, Nick Pettigrew, Mikey Rivera, and John Troll.  The group has won 120 games in four seasons, with four-straight trips to the NCAC Tournament along with program's first NCAA Regional appearance in 2018. After setting a new single-season record with 32 wins last season, this year's squad broke that record on Wednesday after claiming their 33rd win of the season in a doubleheader sweep at Oberlin.

Denison baseball seniors with parents