Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
Fri Aug 30
Final
2 Denison
1 at Dickinson
in Carlisle, Pa.
Sat Aug 31
Final
3 Denison
0 at Elizabethtown
in Elizabethtown, Pa.
Fri Sep 06
Final
1 Denison
2 at #17 Wash. & Jeff.
in Washington, Pa.
Sun Sep 08
Final - OT
0 Washington and Lee
1 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Sep 12
Final
1 Denison
0 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Sep 21
Final
0 Oberlin
6 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Sep 22
Final - OT
1 Rhodes
2 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Sep 25
Final
1 Ohio Wesleyan
0 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Sep 28
Final
4 Denison
0 at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Tue Oct 01
Final
2 Kenyon
1 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 12
Final
0 Wooster
6 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Oct 17
Final
2 Denison
0 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Oct 19
Final
0 Allegheny
6 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Oct 23
4:30 PM
Denison
at Earlham
in Richmond, Ind.
Sat Oct 26
12:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Tue Oct 29
4:30 PM
Wittenberg
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Nov 02
12:00 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Godfrey and Happel secure OT win at Witt

Charlotte Godfrey  |  Photo by: Jace Delgado
Charlotte Godfrey | Photo by: Jace Delgado

SPRINGFIELD, Ohio – Goals from Charlotte Godfrey and Charlotte Happel in the final eight minutes of play helped Denison hand a 3-2 overtime defeat to Wittenberg University on Saturday.

Trailing 2-1 with only 6:18 remaining in regulation, Godfrey totaled her second goal of the season to tie the match and send it to overtime. Then in the 72nd minute, Happel connected on her third goal of the year to stun the Tigers and give the Big Red their third straight victory.

Denison's Lucy Pearsall recorded her first goal of the season in the 25th minute to give the Big Red an early 1-0 lead. Wittenberg's Audrey Coler and Blaine Donnelly connected on goals in the 30th and 50th minutes, respectively, to give the Tigers a 2-1 advantage before Godfrey and Happel ended the contest in the final minutes.

Godfrey's game-tying goal gives her two goals in her last two matches and a total of 22 shots taken since Denison's 4-0 defeat of Oberlin College on Sept. 15.

Freshman goalkeeper Kerry Lawler earned her third win of the season for the Big Red with a two-save effort in 71:33 of total time, while Wittenberg's Allie Purvis recorded four saves in the cage during the overtime affair.

Denison has now won four of their last five matches and has outscored their opponents 11-3 over that stretch.

The Big Red will continue their NCAC road trip next Wednesday, Sept. 27 when they travel to Richmond, Indiana to take on Earlham College. The match is scheduled to start at 4:30 p.m.

Wooster stuns Big Red in 2OT
September 13, 2017 Wooster stuns Big Red in 2OT