Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
Fri Aug 30
Final
2 Denison
1 at Dickinson
in Carlisle, Pa.
Sat Aug 31
Final
3 Denison
0 at Elizabethtown
in Elizabethtown, Pa.
Fri Sep 06
Final
1 Denison
2 at #17 Wash. & Jeff.
in Washington, Pa.
Sun Sep 08
Final - OT
0 Washington and Lee
1 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Sep 12
Final
1 Denison
0 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Sep 21
Final
0 Oberlin
6 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Sep 22
Final - OT
1 Rhodes
2 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Sep 25
Final
1 Ohio Wesleyan
0 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Sep 28
Final
4 Denison
0 at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Tue Oct 01
Final
2 Kenyon
1 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 12
Final
0 Wooster
6 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Oct 17
Final
2 Denison
0 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Oct 19
Final
0 Allegheny
6 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Oct 23
Final
1 Denison
0 at Earlham
in Richmond, Ind.
Sat Oct 26
Final
2 Denison
1 at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Tue Oct 29
Final
0 Wittenberg
1 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Nov 02
Final
5 Denison
0 at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Wed Nov 06
Final
0 DePauw
2 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAC Tournament Semifinal
Sat Nov 09
Final
1 Kenyon
2 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAC Championship
Wed Nov 13
3:00 PM
Denison
at Rochester (N.Y.)
in Rochester, N.Y. - NCAA Tournament First Round
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Godfrey's hat-trick propels DU to NCAC title match

Charlotte Godfrey  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Charlotte Godfrey | Photo by Jace Delgado

GRANVILLE, Ohio--  Charlotte Godfrey's hat trick propelled Denison into the North Coast Athletic Conference Tournament Championship after a 3-0 win over DePauw at Piper Stadium.  With the win, Denison sets a new program record for consecutive victories at 14.

The Big Red set the tone early when Godfrey took a pass from Lucy Pearsall from about five yards in front of the cage and deposited the ball into the goal, giving DU a 1-0 lead after only one shot attempt and 1:57 had elapsed on the clock.

In the 13th minute, sophomore Charlotte Happel had a good chance inside the circle but her shot just missed the frame, wide left.

Twenty-two minutes into the second half, the Big Red gained some breathing room when Melissa Hoey slipped a pass through traffic from the top of the circle.  Godfrey received the pass and beat the keeper for the 2-0 lead.

The third and final goal came with 2:40 remaining on the clock.  This time it was a through ball by Pearsall that set up Godfrey for a nifty slap shot into the lower right corner of the cage.

This marked the first career hat trick for Godfrey and her third multi-goal effort of the season.  As a team, Denison outshot DePauw 12-9 while the Tigers held a 6-3 advantage in penalty corner attempts. 

Big Red goalie Kerry Lawler finished with two saves en route to her seventh shutout of the season.

Denison moves to 16-3 on the season while DePauw ends its season with an 11-8 record.  The 16 wins are the third-most in program history.  During the 14-game winning streak, Denison has outscored its opponents 48-8 while posting nine shutout victories. 

As the tournament's No. 1 seed, Denison will host third-seeded Wittenberg on Saturday, Nov. 4 at 2 p.m. at Piper Stadium.  The Tigers defeated second-seeded Kenyon, 2-1, earlier today in Gambier, Ohio.

 

Wooster stuns Big Red in 2OT
September 13, 2017 Wooster stuns Big Red in 2OT