Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Fri Aug 30
Final
2 Denison
1 at Dickinson
in Carlisle, Pa.
Sat Aug 31
Final
3 Denison
0 at Elizabethtown
in Elizabethtown, Pa.
Fri Sep 06
Final
1 Denison
2 at #17 Wash. & Jeff.
in Washington, Pa.
Sun Sep 08
Final - OT
0 Washington and Lee
1 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Sep 12
Final
1 Denison
0 at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Sep 21
Final
0 Oberlin
6 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Sep 22
Final - OT
1 Rhodes
2 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Sep 25
Final
1 Ohio Wesleyan
0 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Sep 28
Final
4 Denison
0 at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Tue Oct 01
Final
2 Kenyon
1 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Oct 12
Final
0 Wooster
6 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Oct 17
4:00 PM
Denison
at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Oct 19
11:00 AM
Allegheny
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Oct 23
4:30 PM
Denison
at Earlham
in Richmond, Ind.
Sat Oct 26
12:00 PM
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Tue Oct 29
4:30 PM
Wittenberg
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Nov 02
12:00 PM
Denison
at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
No Event
No Event
No Event
View Full Schedule

Denison's NCAC winning streak snapped by Kenyon

Abby Scully  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Abby Scully | Photo by Jace Delgado

GRANVILLE, Ohio--  Denison's 26-match North Coast Athletic Conference winning streak came to an end at the hands of Kenyon College.  The Ladies broke a 1-1 tie in the 50th minute of play when Sarah Metmaier scored off a pass from Olivia O'Connell. That was enough to propel Kenyon to a 2-1 win over the Big Red.

Denison's last NCAC defeat came at the hands of the College of Wooster on September 13, 2017.  They hadn't suffered a conference loss at home since Oct. 23, 2016.

Kenyon took a 1-0 lead just 3:30 into the contest off a penalty corner attempt.  Isabella Menguzzi inserted the corner that was received by Hannah Sklar at the top of the circle. Her shot was saved by Denison's Teya Adams but Menguzzi was there to poke in the rebound off the pads of Adams.

Denison came right back and tied the match at 1-1 less than a minute later.  The Big Red went right down the field and drew a penalty corner that was inserted by AC VeithCharlotte Godfrey's scoring attempt was blocked by a Kenyon defender but Meg Baylis was there to convert her second goal of the season.

With five minutes left in the second quarter, it looked as if the Big Red were going to take a 2-1 lead. After a penalty corner insert by Veith, Godfrey took a shot from five yards in front of the cage. Her shot found the back of the net, but it was waived off by the official because of an illegal hit on the shaft of her stick.

The score remained tied at 1-1 through the third quarter despite the Big Red outshooting the Ladies, 3-0 in the period.

In the fourth, Kenyon went on the offensive, controlling possession and out-shooting DU, 3-0.  The game-winner developed quickly as O'Connell threaded a pass into the circle where Metzmaier sent a one-timer past Adams.

That was the final shot attempted in the match.  Denison held an 11-7 advantage in shots and a 6-5 lead in penalty corners.  Kenyon goalie Payton Dean finished with five saves and improved to 7-0 in goal for the Ladies.  Adams posted two saves for the Big Red.

Denison will have to wait 11 days to bounce back. Their next opponent is Wooster on Saturday, Oct. 12 at 11 a.m. in Granville.