Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Wed Nov 13
Final
49 Denison
56 at Earlham
in Richmond, Ind.
Fri Nov 15
Final
80 Ohio Northern
70 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Nov 20
Final
74 Capital
80 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Nov 23
Final
69 Otterbein
70 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Nov 26
Final
45 Denison
51 at Case Western Reserve
in Cleveland, Ohio
Wed Dec 04
Final
64 Denison
76 at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Dec 07
Final
59 Denison
60 at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sat Dec 14
Final
75 Wabash
65 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Dec 21
Final
79 Denison
71 at UC Santa Cruz
UCSC Holiday Classic- Kaiser Permanente Arena
Sun Dec 22
Final
80 Whittier
69 vs. Denison
@ Kaiser Permanente Arena - Santa Cruz, CA in Santa Cruz, Calif.
Sat Jan 04
Final
67 Denison
63 at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Wed Jan 08
Final
80 #2 Wittenberg
63 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 11
Final
71 Denison
83 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Wed Jan 15
Final
79 Denison
89 at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Jan 18
Final
72 Allegheny
69 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 22
Final
71 #14 Wooster
72 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 25
Final
65 Denison
88 at Wabash
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
Wed Jan 29
Final
67 Hiram
71 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 01
Final
62 Kenyon
63 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 05
Final
59 Denison
100 at #5 Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Feb 08
Final
62 Oberlin
67 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 12
Final
72 Denison
93 at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Feb 15
Final
63 Denison
90 at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Feb 19
6:00 PM
DePauw
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 22
3:00 PM
Ohio Wesleyan
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
No Event
View Full Schedule

Stanislawski drops 24 as OWU tops Denison

Fred Brou  |  Photo by Dan Oetting
Fred Brou | Photo by Dan Oetting

DELAWARE, Ohio – Ohio Wesleyan's Ethan Stanislawski posted a game-high 24 points as the Bishops defeated the Big Red 83-71 on Saturday afternoon at Branch Rickey Arena.

Despite the Bishops shooting 54 percent from the field in the first half, it was Denison that carried the lead midway through the opening frame. Five-straight points from Nate Haller helped the Big Red recover from an early 13-8 deficit, and after Fred Brou and Conor Fenton combined for the next three triples, DU saw their lead build to 22-16 with 9:50 to go before the break.

Over the next four minutes of action, the momentum shifted back to the home side after OWU rattled off a 14-1 scoring run behind nine combined points from Grant Gossard and Nick Carlson to take a 30-23 lead. DU's Jack Coulter followed with a three-pointer to trim the Big Red deficit back to four, 30-26, but the Bishops remained in the driver's seat for the rest of the first half as they entered the half with a 44-34 lead.

Trailing 50-37 in the early minutes of the second half, Denison responded with a three from Haller and back-to-back layups from Fenton and Freeman Brou to make it a six-point game, 50-44, at the 14:02 mark.

The Big Red rally brought OWU's lead back to single digits, but a bucket from Grant Spicer and a triple from Stanislawski built the Bishop lead to 11, 55-44, with 12:24 to play in the game.

Denison finished the second half shooting 50 percent from the field (13-of-26), but Ohio Wesleyan continued to hold their lead in the double-digits for the remainder of the game as they secured their eighth win of the season and moved to 3-3 in the North Coast Athletic Conference. The Big Red moved to 4-9 on the season and 1-5 in conference play.

Stanislawski tallied his 24 points on 5-of-10 from the perimeter and 7-of-8 at the charity stripe. He also tied for the team-high with five rebounds. Jack Clement and Gossard followed with 12 points each while Spicer turned in 11 points and five boards.

Fenton led DU with 16 points on 6-of-11 from the field while adding five rebounds and five assists. Fred Brou chipped in a season-high 15 points on 4-of-5 from three and recorded a game-best six rebounds. Kevin Cheng rounded out Denison's double-digit scorers with 10 points, five boards, and three assists.

The Big Red will return to action on Wednesday, January 15 when they travel to Greencastle, Ind. for a 6 p.m. tilt with DePauw.