Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Dec 21
Final
79 Denison
71 at UC Santa Cruz
UCSC Holiday Classic- Kaiser Permanente Arena
Sun Dec 22
Final
80 Whittier
69 vs. Denison
@ Kaiser Permanente Arena - Santa Cruz, CA in Santa Cruz, Calif.
Sat Jan 04
Final
67 Denison
63 at Oberlin
in Oberlin, Ohio
Wed Jan 08
Final
80 #2 Wittenberg
63 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 11
Final
71 Denison
83 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Wed Jan 15
Final
79 Denison
89 at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Sat Jan 18
Final
72 Allegheny
69 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Jan 22
Final
71 #14 Wooster
72 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 25
Final
65 Denison
88 at Wabash
in Crawfordsville, Ind.
Wed Jan 29
Final
67 Hiram
71 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 01
Final
62 Kenyon
63 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 05
Final
59 Denison
100 at #5 Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sat Feb 08
Final
62 Oberlin
67 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Wed Feb 12
Final
72 Denison
93 at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Feb 15
Final
63 Denison
90 at Allegheny
in Meadville, Pa.
Wed Feb 19
Final
64 DePauw
65 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 22
Final
81 Ohio Wesleyan
96 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Feb 25
Final
75 Denison
69 at Wabash
in Crawfordsville, Ind. - NCAC Quarterfinal
Fri Feb 28
Final
62 Denison
74 vs. Wooster
@ Wittenberg in Springfield, Ohio - NCAC Tournament Semifinal
View Full Schedule

Denison hangs on for win over Hiram

Kevin Cheng  |  Photo by Jace Delgado
Kevin Cheng | Photo by Jace Delgado

GRANVILLE, Ohio— Jack Coulter scored 22 points with 14 coming in the second half as Denison posted a 71-67 win over Hiram on Wednesday night at Livingston Gymnasium.

A 3-pointer by Coulter with 11:47 to play put Denison up five but the Terriers responded with an 8-0 run to take a 56-53 lead with 9:25 remaining.

DU held on to that three-point lead until Ben Stern fouled Tyler McMillion and sent him to the line where he connected on the pair to make it a one-point game.  With 1:02 left on the clock, Coulter came off a screen and connected on a 3-pointer to go up by four.

Hiram responded with a quick basket in the paint by McMillion.  Denison first-year Will Hunter was aggressive at the other end and scored in traffic to give his team a 68-64 lead with 38 seconds left.

After Hiram split a pair of free throws, the Big Red turned it over and Antonio McQueen was there with the transition bucket cutting the DU lead to 68-67 with 25 seconds left.  On Denison's next possession Ben Stern was fouled and he missed the first but made the second, giving Hiram a chance to win or tie with 14 seconds left. 

Hiram went inside to McQueen and with five seconds left he was fouled by Stern but it not a shooting foul. Instead, McQueen went to the line for the one-and-one and missed the front end.  Kevin Cheng was there with the key defensive rebound and was quickly fouled by the Terriers.

Leading 69-67 with three seconds left, Cheng sank both free throws to lock up the victory.

Coulter was 8-of-14 and 6-of-12 from 3-point range to finish with 22 points in 35 minutes.  Hunter followed with 10 points and five rebounds on 4-of-6 shooting.  Stern added 10 points off the bench while Cheng rounded out the scoring with nine points, three steals, and three assists.

McQueen led Hiram in scoring 16 points on 7-of-9 shooting.  McMillion finished with 14 points and led all players with eight rebounds. 

Denison shot 43 percent for the game and were 10-of-30 (.333) from beyond the arc.  The Terriers shot 48 percent from the field but were just 3-of-16 from 3-point range. 

The Big Red returns to Livingston Gym on Saturday (Feb. 1) when they host Kenyon College at 3 p.m.