Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Sat Apr 27
16 #11 Denison
13 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Thu May 02
8 Wooster
17 vs. #11 Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAC Semifinal
Sun May 05
11 Ohio Wesleyan
17 vs. #11 Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAC Championship
Wed May 08
6 Concordia Wisconsin
12 vs. #9 Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAA Tournament 2nd Rd.
Sat May 11
7 Rhodes
11 vs. #9 Denison
in Granville, Ohio - NCAA Tournament Third Round
Wed May 15
10 #9 Denison
19 at #2 Salisbury
in Salisbury, Md. - NCAA Tournament Quarterfinals
View Full Schedule

Waxter and DeCamp earn Scholar All-America honors

(L-R) Jake Waxter, Henry DeCamp  |  Photos by Brett Dunbar
(L-R) Jake Waxter, Henry DeCamp | Photos by Brett Dunbar

GRANVILLE, Ohio--  Denison University's Jake Waxter and Henry DeCamp were named to the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association's 2019 Division III Scholar All-America team.  Waxter and DeCamp are the 16th and 17th USILA Scholar All-Americans in program history. 

This is the fourth time Denison has placed two or more individuals on this exclusive list. The Scholar All-America team is made up of seniors who carry a grade point average of 3.0 or higher and they must also be an All-American, a member of the USILA North/South team, or an outstanding league or conference player.

Waxter ended his career as a three-time USILA All-American and a three-time first-team All-North Coast Athletic Conference pick.  He posted career high's in goals (37) and assists (22) in 2019 and leaves the college with 110 goals, 64 assists, and 98 ground balls.

DeCamp completed his career at Denison in 2019 and will go down as one of the best faceoff specialists in the history of the program.  He is the all-time leader in ground balls (403) and faceoff wins (755) while boasting a .653 winning percentage and he accomplished all of this in only three seasons with the Big Red.  He is a three-time NCAC Specialist of the Year and a three-time All-NCAC first-team selection who was named to the USILA All-American team in 2018.  This season, DeCamp suffered a torn ACL midway through the season but returned late in the season, helping DU to another NCAA Quarterfinal appearance.

Denison finished the 2019 season with an 18-3 record and was ranked eighth in the final USILA Division III Top-20 Coaches Poll.  The Big Red has made four consecutive NCAA Tournament appearances highlighted by one NCAA Final Four (2017) and two Elite Eight (2016, 2019) showings.  Overall, Denison men's lacrosse has made 24 NCAA Division III Tournament appearances and 18 NCAC championships.  Head Coach Mike Caravana joined an elite group of coaches in 2019 by winning his 300th career game.  Caravana boasts a record of 308-96 in 26 seasons on the Denison sidelines.

DeCamp and Waxter join Blair Farinholt (2016), Tommy Harrison (2014), Spencer Riehl (2013), Nick Farrell (2012), Tanner Smith (2011), Emmett Jones (2011), Brady Burton (2010), Connor Detjen (2010), John Payne (2010), Jim Minor (2009), Kurt Federer (2005), Tim Nicholas (2001), Frank Pennimpede (1999), Justin Walker (1999) and Colin Brune (1996).  The USILA Scholar All-America program has been in existence since 1989.