Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sun Sep 29
Denison
at Ohio State Duals
in Columbus, Ohio
Sat Oct 26
Denison
at Cleveland State Duals
in Cleveland, Ohio
Sun Oct 27
Denison
at Cleveland State Duals
in Cleveland, Ohio
Sun Nov 10
Denison
at Vassar Invitational
in Poughkeepsie, N.Y.
Sun Nov 24
Denison
at Drew Invitational
in Madison, N.J.
Wed Jan 15
8 a.m.
Denison
at Ohio State
in Columbus, Ohio
Sun Jan 19
9 a.m.
Denison Winter Open
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Jan 25
8 a.m.
Denison
at DeCicco Duals
in Notre Dame, Ind.
Sat Feb 01
Denison
at Northwestern University Mega Meet
in Evanston, Ill.
Sun Feb 02
Denison
at Northwestern University Mega Meet
in Evanston, Ill.
Sat Feb 22
Denison
at Midwest Conference Championship
in Columbus, Ohio
Sun Feb 23
9th Place
9th Place Denison
at Midwest Conference Championship
in Columbus, Ohio
Sat Mar 07
Denison
at NCAA Regional
in Detroit, Mich.
View Full Schedule

Women’s fencing lands seven NCAA regional qualifiers

Denison women's fencing NCAA Regional qualifiers
Denison women's fencing NCAA Regional qualifiers

GRANVILLE, Ohio - Denison women's fencing has qualified seven fencers for the 2020 NCAA Regional Championships held in Detroit, Mich. on March 7. This marks a huge accomplishment for the first-year varsity program under head coach Peter Grandbois.

Denison's epée squad tallied four qualifiers for regionals, including seniors Hayley LeBlanc and Tuuli Qin-Terrill, and juniors Diyanshu Emandi and Denise Seifert. From sabre, junior Sé DiFilippo, freshman Tessy Udoh, and sophomore Shivika Churiwalla also qualified for a trip to Detroit. To qualify, each fencer must compete in at least 21 varsity bouts while posting a win percentage of at least 25%. The maximum number of fencers that can qualify from a given team is 12.

Approximately four of the top fencers from each weapon and region will advance to the 2020 NCAA Women's Fencing Championships back in Detroit on March 19-23. While at regionals, the Big Red will run into familiar foes from the Division I level including Notre Dame, Ohio State, and Northwestern. 

The regional event will be held on the University of Detroit Mercy's campus. It will be run as a round-robin pool separated by weapon with the top four fencers from each being those who have won the most bouts.

The Denison women's fencing team will next compete in the Midwest Conference Championship held in Columbus, Ohio on February 22-23.