Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Sat Feb 22
Final
17 #22 Denison
10 at #24 Geneseo
in Geneseo, N.Y.
Sun Feb 23
Final
12 #22 Denison
14 at #21 Brockport
in Brockport, N.Y.
Sat Feb 29
Final
6 #21 Denison
13 at #3 Gettysburg
in Gettysburg, Pa.
Wed Mar 04
Final
13 #8 York (Pa.)
7 vs. #21 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Mar 13
Final
5 Ohio Wesleyan
20 vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Mon Mar 16
Cancelled
#22 Denison
at #17 Colorado College
in Colorado Springs, Colo.
Wed Mar 18
Cancelled
Stevenson
vs. Denison
@ Colorado College in Colorado Springs, Colo.
Thu Mar 26
Cancelled
Chicago
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 28
Cancelled
Ohio Wesleyan
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Tue Mar 31
Cancelled
Denison
at Hiram
in Hiram, Ohio
Sat Apr 04
Cancelled
Denison
at Kenyon
in Gambier, Ohio
Sun Apr 05
Cancelled
Allegheny
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Thu Apr 09
Cancelled
Wooster
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 11
Cancelled
Denison
at DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Wed Apr 15
Cancelled
Denison
at Wittenberg
in Springfield, Ohio
Sun Apr 19
Cancelled
Denison
at #2 Tufts
in Boston, Mass.
Tue Apr 21
Cancelled
Oberlin
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 25
Cancelled
#8 Washington and Lee
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
View Full Schedule

#8 York pulls away from #21 Denison in the second half

Carlie Grandjean
Carlie Grandjean

GRANVILLE, Ohio--  Eighth-ranked York outscored No. 21 Denison 6-1 over the final 21 minutes of the game. That was enough to propel the Spartans to a 13-7 win over the Big Red on Wednesday afternoon at Piper Stadium. 

Denison trailed 5-4 at halftime and the Spartans responded with two goals by Regan Cook to open the second half.  Denison came right back with two goals from Molly Fisher to make it a 7-6 contest with 22:29 remaining. 

The Big Red controlled the ensuing draw but Liza Farnham's potential game-tying shot was saved by York's Riley DiFiore.  Seconds later, Cook found Megan Fox for the goal.  Fox's goal opened the floodgates as Cook scored three consecutive goals over the next nine minutes to take a five-goal lead with 12:26 to play.

Goals by Rachel Della and Madison Marciniak put the game out of reach with eight minutes on the clock.  Denison did end the scoring drought with 6:55 left when Farnham scored on a feed from Leander Perun.

Fischer led Denison with three goals on three shot attempts.  Casey McTague, Farnham, Allaire Kotz, and Kiely Noonan rounded out the scoring with one goal apiece.  Charlotte Godfrey had five ground balls, three draw controls and four caused turnovers while McTague added two caused turnovers and two ground balls.

Maeve Caldwell finished with seven saves for Denison while DiFiore tallied 14 saves in an inspired performance for York.

Denison falls to 1-3 while York moves to 2-1. This was Denison's first home loss since Feb. 23, 2019, snapping a 10-game home winning streak.  The Big Red does not return to action until Monday, March 16 when they face Colorado College in Colorado Springs, Colorado at 5 p.m. EDT.