Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Fri Feb 28
Final
9 Denison
0 at Wooster
in Wooster, Ohio
Wed Mar 04
Final
9 #25 Denison
0 at Ohio Wesleyan
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Mar 07
Final
4 #28 Hope
5 vs. #25 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Mar 08
Final
0 Kalamazoo
9 vs. #25 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Mar 14
Cancelled
Colby
vs. #25 Denison
@ Fredericksburg, Va. Blue-Grey Invitational
Sun Mar 15
Cancelled
#25 Denison
vs. #16 Skidmore
@ Blue-Grey Invitational in Fredericksburg, Va.
Tue Mar 17
Cancelled
#25 Denison
at Whittier
in Whittier, Calif.
Tue Mar 17
Cancelled
#25 Denison
at Occidental
in Los Angeles, Calif.
Wed Mar 18
Cancelled
#25 Denison
vs. Babson
@ The Claremont Club in Claremont, Calif.
Thu Mar 19
Cancelled
#25 Denison
vs. #23 Whitman
@ Pomona-Pitzer in Claremont, Calif.
Tue Mar 24
Cancelled
#13 Kenyon
vs. #25 Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Mar 29
Cancelled
Denison
at #29 Case Western Reserve
in Cleveland, Ohio
Fri Apr 03
Cancelled
Denison
vs. Midwest Invitational
@ Madison, Wis.
Sat Apr 04
Cancelled
Denison
vs. Midwest Invitational
@ Madison, Wis.
Tue Apr 07
Cancelled
Wittenberg
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 11
Cancelled
Denison
at #38 DePauw
in Greencastle, Ind.
Wed Apr 15
Cancelled
Otterbein
vs. Denison
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Apr 24
Cancelled
Denison
vs. NCAC Championship
@ TBD
Sat Apr 25
Cancelled
Denison
vs. NCAC Championship
@ TBD
Sun Apr 26
Cancelled
Denison
vs. NCAC Championship
@ TBD
View Full Schedule

Women’s tennis opens season with loss at #7 CMU

Hannah Cianciola  |  Photo by Curt Ashcraft
Hannah Cianciola | Photo by Curt Ashcraft

WEXFORD, Pa. – No. 25 Denison women's tennis opened their dual season on Saturday afternoon and suffered a 9-0 loss to seventh-ranked Carnegie Mellon University at the Oxford Athletic Club in Wexford, Pa.

In doubles action, DU's No. 1 duo of Alex Cash and Hannah Cianciola played fifth-ranked Courtney Ollis and Danna Taylor close but ultimately suffered an 8-6 loss to the Tartans. The Big Red also suffered a pair of 8-3 losses in No. 2 and 3 doubles to CMU.

In singles, freshman Sydney Cianciola pushed 25th-ranked Vinaya Rao to a third set on the No. 2 court after taking the second set, 6-2. Despite the rally, Rao captured the win, 6-4, 2-6, 6-4. In No. 4 singles, Hannah Cianciola forced a second-set tiebreaker, but Janabelle Wu kept the victory at home with a 6-4, 7-6 (4) win. Monique Brual also pushed a second-set tiebreaker on Lindy Cornwall on the No. 5 court, but the Tartans secured the win, 6-3, 7-6 (4).

Denison will return to the court tomorrow, Sunday, Feb. 16 when they travel to the Greensburg Racquet Club for a 10:30 a.m. start with Indiana University of Pennsylvania.