Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
No Event
Sat Jan 18
10:30 a.m. / 11:30 a.m.
at Snow Globe Invitational
in Westerville, Ohio (Otterbein University)
Sat Jan 25
12 p.m. / 2:30 p.m.
at Fighting Scots Invitational 5th Place
in Wooster, Ohio
Thu Jan 30
5 p.m. / 6:30 p.m.
at Wooster Dual Meet L, 75-55
in Wooster, Ohio
Sat Feb 08
12 p.m. / 2 p.m.
Bob Shannon Invitational 8th Place
in Granville, Ohio
Sun Feb 09
All-Ohio Combined Events Championship
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Feb 14
5 p.m. / 6:40 p.m.
at OWU Open 1st Place
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Feb 15
12 p.m.
at All-Ohio Championship
in Westerville, Ohio
Sat Feb 22
10:30 a.m. / 12 p.m.
at Wittenberg Invitational
in Springfield, Ohio
Sun Feb 23
12:30 p.m.
at NCAC Combined Events Championship
in Oberlin, Ohio
Fri Feb 28
12 p.m. / 2:30 p.m.
NCAC Championship 8th Place
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Feb 29
10 a.m. / 2:30 p.m.
NCAC Championship 8th Place
in Granville, Ohio
Fri Mar 13
12 p.m. / 1 p.m.
at BSC Invitational 1st Place
in Birmingham, Ala.
Sat Mar 14
9 a.m.
at BSC Invitational 2nd Place
in Birmingham, Ala.
Sat Mar 28
Cancelled
at Carnegie Mellon Quad Meet
in Pittsburgh, Pa.
Fri Apr 03
Cancelled
at Marv Frye Invitational
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Apr 04
Cancelled
at Marv Frye Invitational
in Delaware, Ohio
Sat Apr 11
Cancelled
at All-Ohio Championship
in Delaware, Ohio
Thu Apr 16
Cancelled
Wooster Dual Meet
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 18
Cancelled
at Kenyon Invitational
in Gambier, Ohio
Fri Apr 24
Cancelled
Big Red Invitational
in Granville, Ohio
Sat Apr 25
Cancelled
at NCAC Combined Events Championship
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sun Apr 26
Cancelled
at NCAC Combined Events Championship
in Oberlin, Ohio
Fri May 01
Cancelled
at NCAC Championship
in Oberlin, Ohio
Sat May 02
Cancelled
at NCAC Championship
in Oberlin, Ohio
No Event
View Full Schedule

Denison women take eighth at Bob Shannon Invite

Sydney Lerda  |  Photo by Curt Ashcraft
Sydney Lerda | Photo by Curt Ashcraft

GRANVILLE, Ohio – Denison women's track & field tallied 39.5 team points on Saturday afternoon and placed eighth overall at the 2020 Bob Shannon Invitational in Granville. The Big Red finished 9.5 points ahead of ninth-place Capital (30) while finishing just two points shy of Wooster in seventh place (41.5). Ohio Wesleyan captured the team title with 165 team points.

Claiming two of their top-three finishes on the track, the Big Red were led by a first-place finish from Sydney Lerda in the 800-meter run where she clocked in at 2:26.97. Denison also took 7th-9th place in the event, led by Carolyn Trent in seventh place at 2:34.10, Allie Holmes in eighth (2:34.95) and Aileen Schretzmayer at 2:34.96 in ninth.  

In the 5,000-meter run, Emily Willson posted a third-place finish at 19:13.26. Merritt Newton trailed in 11th place at 21:14.91 and Roberta Fisher took 14th place (22:20.09). In the one-mile run, Trent finished fourth overall with a time of 5:31.21 while Schretzmayer took seventh place (5:50.58) and Anna Lindower trailed in 11th (5:59.03).

Sydney Chandler claimed a pair of top-20 finishes in the 200-meter dash (18th – 30.44) and the 400-meter dash (16th – 1:07.72) and also joined Holmes, Lerda, and Molly Smith in the 4X400 meter relay with a fifth-place finish at 4:41.13.

In the field events, Ashley Schmoll tallied a new PR in the long jump in 13th place at 14'9.25" (4.50 meters). She also took eighth overall in the shot put with a launch of 36'1.50" (11.01 meters) while Tam Dzolic finished in 13th at 34'3" (10.44 meters) and Anna Vrancken came in 17th place with a distance of 33'0.25" (10.06 meters). Dzolic also took part in the weight throw where she placed 11th overall at 40'11.50 (12.48 meters). Vrancken led the charge in sixth place at 45'10.50" (13.98 meters).

In the pole vault, Danielle Wydick finished in a tie for third place with a maximum leap of 9'6.25" (2.90 meters) while Danni Gutelius finished in a tie for ninth in the high jump at 4'7" (1.40 meters).

Denison will return to action next Friday, Feb. 14 when they travel to Delaware, Ohio to compete in the Ohio Wesleyan Open.